189 days

 

Even though I haven’t played in a few years, I am still a soccer junkie.  I LOVE watching the EPL matches on weekend mornings.  I support the US national teams, the Revolution (Jay Heaps will be missed) in MLS, and Arsenal, and whatever teams are playing against Chelsea and ManU in the EPL.  Soccer is an amazing sport.  It’s a very simple concept (move a ball around a field without using your hands and try to put it in the goal) that is executed in so many different ways.  Each country, each league, each team has it’s own style of play.  The fancy footwork of the Brazilian national team is amazing.  The counter-attacking, pin point passing of Arsenal when they are on is gorgeous.  The brute force strength of  the African teams powering out of the midfield is something to behold.  (The flopping of the Italians I could do without.)  Yes, I love me some footy.

Today I watched the live stream of the draw for the 2010 World Cup.   I was expecting the US to be in the Group of Death but we ended up with a rather nice draw.  The US is in Group C with England, Algeria, and Slovenia and have a good shot of making it through to the knock out round.  I’d feel better about our chances if Charlie Davies and Gooch weren’t injured, but still, we’ve got a chance.  The Group of Death this year is Group G (Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal).  Group E (Netherlands, Denmark, Japan and Cameroon) intrigues me.  Those are going to be some hard fought matches.  The Netherlands are one of the top 8 teams in the world, but the other three are very capable and not to be taken lightly.  I really like the African style of play and Japan is a speedy, scrappy bunch. 

June – July of 2010 is going to be a sports fest!  World Cup goes from June 11 – July 11.  The Tour de France runs from July 3 – July 25.  Wimbledon runs from June 21 – July 4.  Plus there is always the Red Sox.  I’m going to be exhausted!

~ by Kat on December 4, 2009.

One Response to “189 days”

  1. Cool! Have you seen “Dare to Dream”? We love it here — both my kids play soccer.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

