Voodoo

I think I need to call on Crazy Aunt Purl’s expertise.  The Work Gods are constantly conspiring against me.  It’s work, work, work all the time.  I need to check the local stores for the “Leave Me Alone. I Have a Life Outside of This Place, So Fuck Off” candle and appropriate burnt offerings.  The long hours are getting to me.  I can’t believe it’s May already.  Oh, to be young again.  May was the best month.  You found out who your teacher was gonna be for the next year.  Summer vacation was just around the corner.  There was enough daylight after dinner to play SPUD, Kick the Can or Freeze Tag with the neighborhood kids. 

Yep, I’m feeling nostalgic.  Probaly because I have a birthday later this week.  To celebrate I’ll be going to see Marie’s Children at the Milky Way in JP, followed by a bit if a pub crawl on Saturday afternoon to sample the Guinness and a couple of soccer games on Sunday (weather permitting).  To kick off the celebration, I got a surprise in the mail last night.  My basketball buddy Keith sent me this.  Yay!  There was quite the sing-a-long in the car last night.  Good thing I had the windows rolled up.  Styx (and Tommy Shaw) was one of my first musical crushes.  They were my first concert.  Keith and I are planning on seeing them later this summer.  It’s not cutting edge music, but it’s fun. 

Thank goodness for the progress made on the thingamijig, otherwise the soccer meeting would have been a total waste of time.  I am nearing the end of the first color on the thingamijig.  I’ll post a picture over the weekend once color number 2 gets added.  Right now it’s just a boring blue tube of 3×3 ribbing.  Soon it will be a boring blue and red tube of 3×3 ribbing.  Cutting edge, I tell you.  Cutting edge.  I’m really pushing the cusp of knitting over here at next project. 

One good thing that came out of the soccer meeting is that I made contact with one of the over-## (shhh, a lady never reveals her true age) teams and as luck would have it they are looking for players.  Yay, more soccer to be played!  That’s one way to stay young.

Anybody up for a game of tag?

~ by Kat on May 17, 2005.

 
