B-day Weekend

I don’t watch American Idol, but this I would watch.  The commentary sounds hysterical.  Back during the Atlanta Olympics my roommate and I had a party for the Opening Ceremonies.  Food and drink from various countries, the atlas got a workout and the in-room commentary on the ‘uniforms’ was hysterical.  It’s not as much fun for the winter games, everybody looks the same in their puffy coats.  Sounds like the BBC was doing something similar for Eurovision.

The Birthday Weekend celebration was excellent.  Marie’s Children on Friday night was great.  My favorite song incorporated the Bumblebee Tuna jingle, "I love Bumblebee, Bumblebee Tuna…".  (is it stuck in your head now too?  Good.)  Good times.  Saturday was the Guinness Hike and dinner from Pupunesa in Hyde Square.  Yummy!  Sunday Soccer wasn’t so good.  The residual effects of the Guinness Hike didn’t help.  Every week we’re so close to victory but we have a problem hitting the back of the net.  One of these weeks we’ll put it together.  To finish it off, it was the best Extreme Home Makeover ever.  I love that show. 

I did manage to work on the thingamijig during the Guinness Hike, completely amazing my non-knitting friends that I was able to knit and drink at the same time.  No dropped stiches or other mistakes to report. 

My non-knitting friends are always encouraging me to knit for cash:
non-knitting friend: You could sell that scarf for $50!
me:  Maybe I could, but my time is worth much more than that. 

Non-knitting friends are always requesting knitted items too:
non-knitting friend:  Can you make me a scarf/hat/sweater/etc that matches my (insert noun here)?
me:  I could, or we can go to the yarn store together and I’ll help you get started on the project yourself. 
non-knitting friend:  What?  Me knit?  It’s way too hard for me.  Besides I don’t have the time.

If you don’t have the time to try it, then I don’t have the time to work on it.  If you want to learn I’m happy to show you how and help you work through the tricky patches.  There is a difference between spending time sharing the craft and doing it for someone else.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love knitting for people.  I never realized how many of my FOs are given away until I wanted to take pictures for this here blog.  I promise to be better about takingn pictures of this year’s Christmas knitting before it is given away.  I guess I don’t like the idea of knitting as a job.  Maybe some day if I win the lottery, I can quit my 9-?? gig, and knit projects on commission.  In the mean time I’m going to be selfish and keep all of my precious knitting time to myself. 

I’ll probably head to Cummington on Sunday.  The US plays England in an international friendly on Saturday afternoon at 3.  The Midnight Riders will be gathering at the Chieftain Pub in Plainville to watch the game.  It is a ways to drive, but it’s much more fun to watch soccer with other soccer freaks.  Bonus – the Wrentham Outlets are just down the road.  If you head down to the pub for the game come say "Hi", I’ll be the one knitting.

~ by Kat on May 22, 2005.

 
