Couch surfing

Wow!  Anybody watch the Sox game?  Did you see the way Tek blocked the plate in the top of the 8th?  Plays like that, are why I have a thing for catchers (and soccer goalies).  The bunt he layed down in the bottom of the 9th confirmed it.  Damn.  On another note, when are they going to get a real 2nd baseman.  Bellhorn has contributed very little this year.  His defense is suspect these days.  Shout out to Tito – bottom 9, bases loaded, no outs and you DON’T pinch hit for Bellhorn?!?  With Olerud on the bench?  Argh.

I stopped off at my LYS on my ride home tonight to do a little sock shopping.  I rode away with 3 sets of DPNs (0s, 1s, and 2s cause you never know) and some lovely sock yarn, Brown Sheep Wildfoote in the Bluegrass colorway.  After perusing the website it appears that the handpainted colorways are discontinued.  Hmmm, I may have to had back to Circles in the morning and buy some more.  So much for the yarn diet (and my fear of knitting socks).

When I got home I searched my books and mags for sock patterns and info and did not find much.  Google did turn up this on-line resource.  Wow- sock patterns gallore!  Good stuff.  I had fun searching and sorting and found a pattern for the Wildfoote yarn.  Excellent.  For my first pair I can concentrate on sock knitting technique rather sock knitting math.  From my perusal of the proficient sock knitters blogs, it appears that everyone has developed their own ‘formula’.  I’ll get there, someday, but not with my first pair.  For the initial project, I’m better off following specific instructions (with some gentle tweaking) and figuring out the process.  My soccer game got cancelled tomorrow so I’ll be casting on in the morning and the sock will be coming along to the Black Crowes/Tom Petty show.  I’m really liking this Sockapal-2-za so far.  We’ll see how I feel on Sunday.

~ by Kat on June 17, 2005.

 
