Second Sock Syndrome?

Not here. 

I cast on for the second sock yesterday afternoon and thanks to a two hour meeting this morning I’m only an inch or so away from the heel shaping.  Yay!!  The heel should be finished tonight so I could have my first pair of socks finished tomorrow evening.  Wow – a FO in less than 10 days!  I’m liking the instant gratification of sock knitting. 

This pair of socks has been worked toe up in  Brown Sheep’s Wildfoote using the figure-8 cast on and a short row heel.  I like my socks short (so they cover my ankle) and snug fitting.  I’ll be dropping a few stitches the next time I make a pair for myself.  These have 72 stitches and I’m spot on gauge at 9 sts per inch (I never get gauge).  Next pair I’ll try 64 stitches.

When these are done I’ll be casting on for a top down pair for my nephew using the leftover Wildfoote.  He’s only 3 so they will work up very quickly.  I want to try a variety of techniques before I settle on a pattern for my sock pal.

Hope everyone is staying cool.  The humidity here in Boston is brutal.

~ by Kat on June 27, 2005.

2 Responses to “Second Sock Syndrome?”

  1. Wow, that is a seriously fast sock.

  2. I had the same problem with my first sock…a little too loose in the cuff. It gets easier to customize after the first pair.

    If you need a pattern for your 3yo, I have been knitting the “just your basic baby socks” pattern from patti stone: http://www.p2designs.com/images/patterns/sox-BasicBaby.html you can easily modify it to make it bigger. She also has many free children’s patterns on her site. I found the pattern to be easy to follow and they turn out adorable.

Comments are closed.

 
