Golf socks?

It’s been a busy day. The sock and I got up at 5:15 to try and catch some quality time with Tiger.  Dscn1251 This is as close as the sock got, I didn’t want those giant NJ State Troopers to confiscate my DPNs.  It was rally nice to get to the course early today.  My volunteer credentials allow me to enter the grounds before the Dscn1247general public so I was able to walk around and get some nice photos in the early morning light.  I am soooo NOT a morning person, but when I do manage to drag my ass out of bed that early I love it. 

Right after seeing Tiger, the Sock and I hoofed it down to the 18th Tee for the Jack Nicklaus dedication.  He was so courteous and entertaining in the short speech he gave describing his two US Open victories at Baltusrol.  Chatted with the fans, signed a few autographs.  Old skool golf.

After that, the sock and I found a shady spot in the grandstand on 5 and finished the heel while the several groups of players came through.  After walking several miles the past two days it was nice to sit and relax.  I’m looking forward to my day off from work on Saturday.  The sock and I have out plans in place about where we are going to station ourselves for maximum golf watching and sock knitting.Allaboutyarn

So what do I do after golf?  Why, ride my trusty bike to the LYS of course.  All About Yarn is a small cramped shop in my hometown.  Lat time I was home they were located down an alley.  I’m glad they’ve moved to the main street but the space is teeny and there is stuff everywhere.  Lots of froo-froo yarn (which you could probably guess from all the garter stitch ponchos in the window) but they also had small selections of Colinette, Rowan, Manos and Lorna’s Laces. 

Grazing_1 I came out with some sock yarn and lucious fingering weight alpaca that I could not leave behind.  What you see grazing in my parent’s back yard is three balls of Trekking XXL sock yarn in orange (#38), green (#39) and brown (#30); two balls of Trampoline Stretch in color 229; and one skein of sooo soft Peruvian Tweed 100% alpaca yarn.  Mmmm, 600 yards of alpaca in lovely natural colors.  I can’t wait to play.  She also had some Sahara merino/camel yarn that was really soft, but the colors were rather blah and at $22 for 250 yards I wasn’t about to try it.

Things that made me laugh today:

  1. Stephanie’s post about her hotel elevator adventures.  If only the sock had been with her.
  2. Someone hitting my blog by searching for "farting + pantyhose" in Yahoo video. (Nope, I’m not running that one myself).

I’m off to have a cold beverage and work on Miss Kiri in the sunshine.  Happy Wednesday everyone!

~ by Kat on August 10, 2005.

 
