Mail is fun! (or Kat is an idiot)

KnitpicksA few weeks ago I guessed which park Dani was knitting in.  As a prize she sent a skein of Knit Picks Gossamer in the Sunrise colorway.  It’s so nice, Java wants to keep it for herself.   Ummm, I don’t think so.  Just what I need, more incentive to finish up the socks.  Thanks Dani!

In other news, I’m an idiot.  No, really.  I am.  As you know I had a mini-yarn adventure yesterday afternoon on my way back from the soccer game.  I also ran all sorts of other errands (grocery store, REI, post office, farmer’s market, bank).  The last stop was the take out Chinese restaurant for some Insta-Food.  On the way home, the you’re-running-out-of-gas-you-idiot-go-buy-some-now light went on.  Of course I was too hungry and too eager to get home to go a half mile out of my way to get the gas.  If I had, there would be no story to tell.

Instead, I wake up late, get dressed, hop into the car with Java and see the car computer telling me I have “11 miles until empty”, I pull into a gas station on Route 9, open my bag and rummage for the wallet.  It’s not there.  I rummage again, it’s still not there.  A third time.  Still, no wallet.  Ar5gh!  I rummage for spare change in the car.  I have $2.40 (in mostly dimes and nickles).  Uh, that’s not even enough for a gallon of gas and that won’t be enough to get my Jeep to and from Lexington.  Damn. 

What’s a girl to do?  Turn off the AC (I think I remember  Click and Clack saying that using the AC affects the MPG your car gets) and drive slowly home (coasting in neutral whenever possible).  By the time I get home the computer says that I have “0 miles to empty”.  Rats.  Where the heck is my wallet?  Did I leave it at a yarn store, REI, the take-out Chinese place?  No.  I’m an idiot.  it was sitting on the coffee table.  At this point it’s too late to drive to Lexington for soccer.  Java and I get back in the car (she is always sooo excited for an adventure), hit the gas station and head up to Larz Anderson Park (Hi Dani!) for some frisbee romping and sock knitting.

The day got better after that.  Java had a blast catching the frisbee, I turned the heel on the sock and am progressing steadily down the foot, AND I’m going to the Rolling Stones concert tonight!!  While at the park my friends called and said they have an extra ticket, woo-hoo!  The Stones at Fenway – the sock is excited at the prospect.

Yes, my wallet is in my bag.

~ by Kat on August 20, 2005.

One Response to “Mail is fun! (or Kat is an idiot)”

  1. The Stones at Fenway! That will be a great show. The local news has been talking about it for months now! You’ll have to give a full report tomorrow!

Comments are closed.