Secrets

Fall, my favorite season.  Yesterday was my favorite kind of weather day.  Slightly gray, with a light cool breeze and the sun trying to burn through.  I don’t know if I like that kind of weather because it reminds me of Nantucket or, if I like Nantucket because it frequently has that kind of weather, but the morning walk with Java was lovely and relaxing.  Just what I needed to get me through my insane work day.

This morning was another excellent weather experience.  Awesome thunderstorms, with thunder and lightening outside the building.  I was lucky enough to be in an exterior conference room so I had a front row seat. 

All in all little knitting progress has been made.  The Sockapal2za socks are off in mail, but I left the extra yarn at home (I had 3 hours of sleep, I’m lucky I remembered the socks) so I’ll be sending a supplemental package tomorrow.  A brief google search for toe up sock heel construction techniques hasn’t yielded any good info.  I did find a variation of a short row heel that I might try, it uses yarn overs instead of wraps and I think the stst on the heel will balance the stst of the toe nicely.  The boring baby blanket continues and I really need to get back to Miss Kiri. 

To keep myself entertained during these busy times and knitting doldrums, I signed up for Secret Pal 6 (Hi Pal!  My answers to the questions are over on the sidebar!).  SP6 seems like a good way to broaden my knitting horizons and get to know other bloggers.  Reviewing a list of the participants, I recognized very few blogs.  That’s a good thing.

In other news, my Mom’s been in a bit of a funk recently.  Everything is fine, just lots of stressful moments happening all at once, so I’ve been talking to her about how she needs to take time for herself, especially during stressful times like this.  She likes bike trips, so I invited her up to Boston for the Hub on Wheels event on September 25th. 

I’ve lived in Boston for 15 years and my parents have come to visit twice.  Yes, twice.  The drive up from New Jersey is too long for them but they want me down there every weekend.  Anyway, imagine my surprise when I get an e-mail yesterday saying that she is coming up for the weekend.  Excellent.  It’s also the weekend of JP Open Studios.  Art, community, a bike tour of Boston with friends new and old, pints of Guinness, seeing my Mom relax and have fun – all add up to an excellent weekend.  I hope all the plans work out.

I love fall in Boston.  We’ve got Open Studios season.  The South End, Fort Point Channel, JP, Somerville, every neighborhood seems to have something going on.  It’s a great way to get out and explore a neighborhood and support the arts. 

Then there’s the Topsfield Fair.  Excellent people watching, sheep, Robinson’s Racing Pigs, the 4H competition, the awesome corn on the cob from the local American Legion post food stall, the Midway, the Ferris Wheel.  I love it all. 

Best of all, Haunted Happenings up in Salem.  Sure it’s a cheesy tourist trap, but there are also lots of interesting events.  I’ve taken a candlelight tour of the House of Seven Gables, listened to ghost stories at the Peabody-Essex Museum, and laughed at the ghoul-barkers on Pickering Wharf trying to lure customers into the haunted houses.  This year there seems to be lots of Harry Potter related events including a Quidditch tournament on October 8th (that should be interesting).

Ahh, fall in New England, so much to do, so little light.  It’s a good thing we can hibernate in the winter to recover from all the activity.

Today’s PSA brought to you by Google: 
Did you know that there are approximately 476,000 hits on Google for "yarn crack"? 
Damn, that’s a lot of knitbloggers.

~ by Kat on September 15, 2005.

3 Responses to “Secrets”

  1. Hi Kat, Hope you enjoyed the e-card. It is great to see you and your mom will be able to spend the weekend together.
    Enjoy the beautiful fall weather and take care,
    Your Secret Pal

  2. Sounds like you’ll find plenty of cool stuff to do with Mom.
    Isn’t it crazy how that visitation thing works? It’s over 500 mi from here to NJ, and the parents (all 4 of them) think it should be no problem for us to come down for all the holidays. Of course, they don’t dream of coming up here more than once a year!

  3. I’m so excited for the open studios! This will be the first year that I’m around for the JP ones. Have you been before? What are your picks?

Comments are closed.

 
