Swayin’ in the breeze

I love me a good Nor’easter.  Yes, I am one of those freaks who goes for walks in storms. 

During the No Name (Perfect) Storm I was working in Boston and living on the North Shore.  People with outside offices were freaking out about how much their windows were flexing in the wind.  Everyone was monitoring boston.com and the MBTA website as conditions deteriorated that afternoon.  The firm remained open (we are always here for our clients), but eventually people started peeling away trying to make their way home.  My 40 minute bus ride took almost 2 hours as our usual coastal route was closed due to flooding. 

When I finally made it home, did I change into dry PJ’s and socks and hunker down?  No.  I donned the rainy weather gear, boots, and ski goggles.  Popped the plastic camera in one pocket and two beers in the other and headed for the harbor.  There I ran into several other like minded folk (they had wine and schnapps) and we spent the next few hours walking around Marblehead admiring Mother Nature’s power. 

I wish I was walking in the storm today, instead of sitting in my office getting nauseous from the building swaying in the breeze.

~ by Kat on October 25, 2005.

4 Responses to “Swayin’ in the breeze”

  1. You are such a good kind of crazy. 🙂 Maybe you should have left work “sick”.

  2. I have yet to experience a skyscraper swaying in the wind, nor flexing plate glass. That’s kind of cool, in an odd sort of way.

  3. I love good storms too, especially when I’m near the ocean.

    I haven’t experienced a rocking building though; I might leave that one to others. 🙂

  4. i don’t mind these kinds of storms when i can choose whether i want to stay inside or not – i like a good blustery day here and there – but yesterday was no fun, not so much because of the weather but because of the way everyone around me was reacting to the weather. i came close to getting knocked over by at least three people who couldn’t see where they were going because they had their umbrellas in front of them (useless though they were).

Comments are closed.

 
