Wonderama

Alien Back when I was a kid my parents had it made.  There were no soccer games or dance classes to go to.  They could sleep in on weekend mornings thanks to Japanese monster movies and Wonderama.

Mom would put the cereal milk in a small pitcher in the fridge.  We’d wake up, get our bowls of Lucky Charms, turn on the TV in the den and sit there.  For hours.  My sister and I would watch Godzilla movies on Saturdays, Sundays were devoted to Wonderama.  We loved it.  One of the segments on Wonderama was "What the heck is that?"  For this segment, they would show a close up of a well known object and kids would guess as to what it was.

Fast forward to Thanksgiving 2005.  Myself, my brother, his wife, her Mom and the dogs are hiking in our local reservation.  I spy a funky green thing near the trail head.  Thinking it’s a long lost squeaky dog toy, I kick it, hoping to entertain the pups (like they need to be distracted from the decaying leaves, sticks and fellow off-leash canines!).  Imagine my surprise when I discover it’s no squeaky dog toy but  solid, oddly shaped, green, organic object!  Can anyone identify it?  Odd.

Gwfgwf knitting over the holiday was tricky.  I had to keep switching projects so the recipiePscarfnts wouldn’t see their gifts.  My brother’s scarf is done.  (Put your sunglasses on, it’s bright …)  I made excellent progress on my nephew’s felted jacket.  The body is done, one sleeve is done and the second sleeve is nearing the elbow.  Since it’s constructed all in one piece it’s a bit big for subway knitting, but I should be able to finish it this week.  Then, let the magic of fulling commence! 

While not knitting away on the felted jacket I worked on a ruffle scarf for my Mom, tiger socks for my brother, and an impromptu baby hat for a family friend.  Pictures have been taken, but I’ve got to find the camera cable.

Besides knitting and gluttony, there was movie watching, family visiting, party attending, and stash enhancing.  Details to come.  Hope everyone had an enjoyable holiday!

Hope everyone had an enjoyable Thanksgiving weekend. 

~ by Kat on November 27, 2005.

5 Responses to “Wonderama”

  1. Glad you had a great Thanksgiving! And that green thing?! I am an ecologist and think that its a type of fungi that maybe grew around a rock or a piece of wood? Hmm, very interesting!

  2. Hmmm… that’s looking like a mishappen crab apple to me. Usually they’re a bit more round, but the texture is right.

  3. Looks like what we here in Tejas call “horse apples” – like a crab apple, but bigger. The ones here get huge – bigger than “normal” apples.

  4. I think I’ve seen those at the grocery store, believe it or not. They were labelled as “ugly fruit” or some such thing, and they are supposed to keep the bugs away if you put them in your closets and cupboards. At least, that’s what it looks like to me!

  5. http://www.gpnc.org/osage.htm
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osage-orange

    I guess they’re called “hedge apples” or osage-orange fruits. Who knew??? 🙂

Comments are closed.

 
