A is for…

A is for Arnold ArboretumArboretum3

I live near the geographic center of Boston (it’s in a parking lot off of Amory between Stonybrook and Green St. for those who are Arboretum1_1curious).  Even though I live in the middle of a city, I’m lucky to be surrounded by green space.  The Arnold Arboretum is one of those green spaces.  I can see it from my front windows and love looking out and watching the seasons change.

Java and I enjoy taking long walks over there.  Java loves Bussey Brook, while I’m partial to Hemlock Hill and The Meadow.  The Arboretum is part of the ‘Emerald Necklace’, a series of parks, designed by Frederick Law Olmstead, that loosely circle Boston.  The Necklace includes Franklin Park, the Arboretum, Olmstead Park, the Riverway, the Fens, the Mall on Commonwealth Ave., the Public Garden and the Common.

The Arboretum is a great melting pot – kids learning to ride bikes on the paved roads, sledding in the winter time, roller blading in the warmer months, joggers, hikers, birders and dog walkers year round. 

Arboretum11Here’s what it looked like on January 2, 2006.

Arboretum6 Arboretum7 Arboretum8 Arboretum12 Arboretum5

~ by Kat on January 3, 2006.

9 Responses to “A is for…”

  1. looking at those pictures I’d be hard pressed to guess you were in the middle of an urban area! I live in the woods but I’d still love to have trails and clear spaces like that.

  2. the arboretum is a great place — i’ve never been in the winter — too bad because it’s beautiful

  3. I was married at the Arboretum at the end of April 1999- it’s one of my favorite places. We live too far out to visit it often now but it’s lovely to see your pictures! That same year we went on the walking tour of the Emerald Necklace but with a 6-year-old tagalong we didn’t make it past the fens. I’d still like to go back and try that again.

  4. The Arboretum is one of the reasons we choose to live where we do.

  5. You make me homesick! Ack! Stop it! Just kidding. I do miss Boston and snow and even now as New England gets glorious amounts of snow, I repeat my mantra: In the Midwest unlike in New England, spring comes in March, not on an afternoon in June. 😉

  6. My dog Naomi and I make it over there at least once a month, we’d love to make it more often! Maybe we’ll see you there some Saturday morning.

  7. I love the Arboretum and miss it a great deal. We do go to Tower Hill, the botanical garden in Central Ma and it’s lovely, but it’s not the Aboretm (where I once attended a mot lovely wedding!).

  8. How lovely. Thank you.

  9. Love these shots of the arboretum…
    I have ALWAYS wanted to go there. This just makes me want to go even more.

Comments are closed.

 
