What are we doing?

lurk  (lûrk)Cranky_6
intr.v. lurked, lurk·ing, lurks
1. To lie in wait, as in ambush.
2. To move furtively; sneak.
3. To exist unobserved or unsuspected: danger lurking around every bend.

Definition courtesy of The Free Dictionary (which I got to via RefDesk.com)

So I’ve tried to be a good blog reader today and leave comments where I can.  I read about National De-Lurking Week at Snow‘s place this morning (and duly left a comment).  From there I followed a link to Paper Napkin (who started this whole thing (I have to go back and leave her a comment)).  Then I followed a few more links willy-nilly like and discovered several new blogs, some knitting, some not-knitting.  I’ve had a great adventure through blog-land this afternoon (while I waited for data to load) discovering new reads. 

I’m fascinated by the demographics of Blog-land.  Have you ever noticed how small a world it is?  Have you ever started down the long, meandering road of new links only to find yourself back close to where you started?  This happened to me last night.  I started at a work-related blog, clicking on links in sidebars and interesting posts and ended up back at a knitting blog that is not one of my regular reads.  I can’t remember which one, it was after 2:00 am when I got there.  And there is always the obvious "Six Degrees of Dooce" game.  I wonder if all blogs can link to Heather in 6 blogs/bloglines or less. 

For the knit blog world the equivalent game would be "Three Degrees of Yarn Harlot/Wendy"

While Bloglines is a great tool,  it limits the blog experience.  You need to make that extra click to launch the blog to make a comment.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  Sometimes you see the photos, sometimes you don’t.  Reading in Bloglines you miss out on all the fun sidebar content.  I’m constantly changing mine: adding photos, changing links, etc.  So, over the next few days, in addition to de-lurking as I make my rounds, I’m going to take some time and check out sidebars and photo albums and Frappr maps and Flickr pages.  Don’t forget the Flickr pages!

I’m heading over to Paper Napkin to leave my comment – coming?

~ by Kat on January 12, 2006.

17 Responses to “What are we doing?”

  1. i try to read the actual blog and just use bloglines to let me know which ones have updates.

    i’ve gotten out of the habit of commenting because it just gets away from me. and then sometimes what am i going to say? “hey, just what 345 other people just said before me.”

    know what i mean?

  2. What’s up with those fuzzy hobbit feet?

  3. Hallo! I just clicked your comment over there.
    In the Neighbourly-like spirit, I de-lurk before anything else.
    A new netiquette!
    I look forward to re-visiting. : )

  4. Aha! So I didn’t dream up this delurking week thing! I couldn’t for the life of me remember where I’d seen it. Now I know, thanks! And we can both become better commenters together!

  5. ‘Sup?

  6. Great minds, eh? Comments lead to conversations and conversations lead to friendships and the more time you spend ‘with’ someone the deeper your relationship grows. How else would we connect and become friends with someone in Mass. or Austrailia or Hong Kong. It’s an amazing place and the more we are engaged with each other the more we are rewarded.

  7. Happy de-lurking week Kat!

  8. The longer I’ve been at this blogging game, the worse I’ve been getting at the comment thing.

    Anyway, happy de-lurking. 🙂

  9. Glad to de-lurk in return!

    I think you’re absolutely correct about the three degrees from Yarn Harlot/Wendy. I’d never thought about it like that.

  10. I have to admit, I’ve visited a lot of blogs without commenting 😉 So – I promise to try harder in future. I’ve started getting a few comments on my blog now, which I never imagined I’d get! Funny old World ain’t it 😉

  11. De-lurking to wish you a happy de-lurking week! I wish the lurkers would de-lurk on my blog. 🙂

  12. I’m anti-bloglines because I enjoy skipping around from link to link, and now I have a bit of a routine and know where I need to be to get to where I want to go. (it’s not as much fun when I forget the blogs name and can never find it again though…)

    I hope you have a great weekend!

  13. I’m de-lurking. I have been reading for a bit. You are very good at posting often. I commend you. Also, now don’t blush, your blog was the first blog I ever read. And the first blog I ever linked to. Yup, I said your blog.

  14. dude,
    you won my double secret comment contest.

    send me your address — i’ll put together a little surprise for you

  15. Its is a hard thing to keep up with all the blogs and people you admire.. I admit. However, that is how it goes when you work and have other activities in your life 🙂 I think you are doing a great job 🙂

  16. Thanks for commenting at my site. I love hearing from new (to me) people. I’m looking forward to reading your blog. 🙂

  17. I’m here to delurk, although I’m a bit late.
    I use Rss reader and open my blogs in a new window so I always get the sidebars included.
    I found it better than bloglines. I love your blog.

Comments are closed.

 
