Boston Red Fingerless Mitts

Appropriate that on the day the Red Sox announce that Theo is back, I announce the completion of the red fingerless mitts. 

Dsc_0064
Project Specs –
Yarn:  Artyarns Supermerino color 115 – just over one skein
Needles:  size 3 bamboo DPNs
Pattern:  Natalya
When using Artyarns for these in the future I’ll skip the cabling.  It’s a lot of work for very little effect.  The cables get lost in the color-variation of the yarn.  I had hoped the cables would keep the pooling to a minimum, but no such luck.

Will I make these again?  Yes!  This pair is being gifted, so I’ve got to make some for me.  I’ve got some pink Karabella Aurora 8 in the stash that will be perfect with my pink puffy winter coat.  What is it with me and pink lately?  I never liked the color as a kid, but ever since I bought the pink puffy winter coat (the only one in my size that was on sale at REI at an amazing price) a few years ago, I find myself drawn to it.

Rumor has it, that the KKOC has made their Olympic Yarn decision.  An anonymous source tells me that an announcement is imminent and involves the American Cable Team and Team Boston.  There are also rumors that Zipperstop is working on an equipment deal, but nothing has been confirmed.  Stay tuned!

~ by Kat on January 25, 2006.

4 Responses to “Boston Red Fingerless Mitts”

  1. Oooh, I’m sure they will be appreciated… anything made out of the Supermerino would be!

    Can’t wait to see what you are knitting for the Olympics. I had no desire to even think about what I would enter if I was to enter until “Team Boston” was announced. I think I’ll still resist though!

  2. The mitts are stunning.

    Oh, the suspense, the suspense…

  3. They look great!

  4. I’m just happy we get to look at Theo’s pretty face for another year!

Comments are closed.

 
