February De-Stashing Summary

Here’s the February de-stashing breakdown – 

3 skeins:  1 pair socks
26 skeins*:  Olympic Dulaan Knitting (16 hats)
2 skeins:  gifted
3 skeins: tossed
34 skeins used
3 skeins of yarn received from SP7
31 De-Stashed Skeins

This month I felt strong enough to venture into yarn stores.  The first trip was made with eyes down as I headed straight for the needles to look for some long circs for Magic Loop socks.  My longest circular is 40", much too short to do both socks at once.  After that trip, I was feeling pretty confident.  On subsequent visits I even did a bit of yarn fondling, but I am proud to say all purchases have been limited to needles and pattern books.

The pile of yarn in the corner of the room is s-l-o-w-l-y getting smaller.  That is a very good thing in my tiny condo and means I can start de-stashing from the Rubber Maid bins stacked in the bedroom.  I’ve got a long way to go before the stash manageable.  My ultimate stash goal is to limit myself to yarn for 20 projects.  No yarn can be purchased without a specific project in mind.  I don’t care how good the sale is, if I don’t know exactly what I plan on using it for, then I can’t buy it.  Once I get down to 20 projects I’ll work on cutting that back even more.  The abundance of yarn in this tiny JP condo is truly embarrassing.  It would take years for me to knit it all.

I know there is only one month to go, and on April 1st, we are allowed to go hog sheep wild and purchase yarn again, but I will resist temptation.  I’m going to try and keep the Stashalong going.  No deadline, I’m just going to approach it one week at a time.

With two possible exceptions:

1.  A brand new niece is expected in August.  I’m thinking of a baby blanket in Rowan Denim.  I’ve got plenty in the stash and my brother and SIL are definitely denim people, but never having worked with Denim before I wonder if it will be too rough or scratchy for a baby blanket.  (Any comments from all you Denim knitters out there?)  If the Denim is too rough AND I don’t have enough soft superwash in the stash, I am allowed to purchase the appropriate amount of superwash yarn (no more), to complete the blanket.

2.  My sister’s wedding shawl, if she still wants one.  I offered to make her one last fall, she accepted, but as I push her to make some decisions on yarn color and pattern, this may not happen.  If she does decide she wants one, I am allowed to purchase the yarn for this project.  With a September wedding date she better decide soon.

*Includes some partial skeins that were fairly close in size to full skeins.

Coming tomorrow (finally), a post that finally honors my SP.  She has been very, very good to me and I have been very, very bad about thanking her.  I keep putting it off, because I never seem to have time to write a proper private thank you or to create the entertaining public post.  My bad.

~ by Kat on February 28, 2006.

4 Responses to “February De-Stashing Summary”

  1. Congrats on your resolve! You might’ve noticed me in Kim’s update as the “let’s have a moment of silence for” person….

  2. Heh – re your comment… cool?! Moi?! *snicker*

    Jeanne and I were talking about shoulder pads recently – both of us have shouders that do not lend themselves to shoulder pads, and we got off on a strange bit about all the shoulder pads we had to cut out of our clothing in the 80s…

  3. Wow, I’m impressed! That’s a lot!

  4. I’m knitting a wedding shawl for my sister too! She’s getting married Sept. 16. She has chosen her pattern and yarn, now I’ve just got to cast on! 🙂 Any ideas what pattern your sister wants?

Comments are closed.

 
