Round 2 Update

"Let’s go Bradley!"

"Rah, rah George Mason!"

"Hoya Saxa!"  (Warning – site has sound)

The upsets continued in the second round and the group standings have changed drastically.  Nobody picked Bradley or George Mason but Johanna and I picked Georgetown.  Johanna is currently in the lead with Cheryl and Maryse close behind.  Don’t be discouraged.  With the first weekend of Madness complete it’s time for the Lazarus Pool

The Lazarus Pool is open to any and all who want to jump in and take a chance at winning some woolly goodness.  It works like this:

  • Send me an e-mail (4mynextproject AT gmail DOT com) with the team from the Sweet 16 that you expect to win it all. 
  • For tie breaking purposes include the team they will beat and how many points they will win by.
  • Winner will get something fun in the mail.

Easy-peasy, no?

In the Fiber World, I spent the weekend inventorying, photographing and organizing the stash.  Yikes!  I’ve got a ton of yarn.  You have to wait until April 1st for the big reveal.  I’ll be spending the next few weeks doing my best to knit my way through it so I don’t seem like such a yarn hog (0ooh, how’s that for a blog name?).  I also finished two squares for the Comforting Jef and Michael project.

And in the serendipity category, I started a dishcloth with some Classic Elite cotton that I got in a swap from Mini last summer.  I have finally fell victim to the hypnotizing rhythm of the garter stitch mitered square.  As I was knitting happily along and pondering possibilities for the niece’s baby blanket and thinking that Mini’s yarn is really pretty knit up, a light bulb went on over my head.  "Hey, I’ve got some stash cotton that is pretty close to the pink in Mini’s cotton.  What if I just kept on mitering and mitering and mitering?" Dsc_0006

What do you think?  I’ll try and get a better photo this weekend if the daylight cooperates.  I really like how it’s working up and this is the perfect mindless project.  I’ve got 5 skeins of the Reynolds Saucy to go through and I hope to finish it with one of the other colors from Mini’s original yarn.  Probably the sage green since that is my SILs favorite color. 

Let’s hope it survives the test trip through the washer.

~ by Kat on March 21, 2006.

4 Responses to “Round 2 Update”

  1. Oh, I really like Mini’s cotton – I think it would make a very cute blanket mixed with the pink!

  2. It looks cute! I’m looking forward to a peek at the stash — I got mine under control a few weeks ago — not so bad, although it’s still expanding. The tourney is kicking my *ahem*, but I still think Duke to win it all.

  3. I have the bad feeling that this next round will knock me right out. A premonition of sorts. I’m going t regret my faith in BC.

  4. You make-a me dizzy.

Comments are closed.

 
