March De-stashing Summary

I tried Kim.  I really tried, but the lure of the Farmhouse Yarns at Circles last weekend was just too much for me. 

7 skeins knit
4 skeins gifted
too many skeins purchased

I have to admit that at times during the Stashalong I felt a bit like Ted Ferguson.  Going to yarn stores got tougher and tougher as the weeks progressed.  I had to avoid the walls of Artyarns and Manos at Windsor Button, the Koigu at A Good Yarn and almost everything at Circles.  I didn’t dare go to SPA, that would have sent me right over the edge.  ElannWebs?  All those wonderful micro yarn sites?  Had to avoid them too, they were the hardest of all since they are at my fingertips. 

In the end it was all for naught as the trip to Circles did me in.  After that the slope got slippery.  A quick trip to Knit-A-Bit** in Westfield, NJ where I stocked up on Trekking and Lorna’s Laces and a few more green skeins for the SILs blanket.  On the trip north, another stop was made at the Yarn Barn*** in Woodbridge, CT where some Regia sock yarn decided to come north.  There was no room in the car for the Interlacements, Noro and Rowan that were pestering me for a ride to Massachusetts. 

Full disclosure comes tomorrow.  Everything has been inventoried and most of it photographed.  Calculations have been made (I love Excel) and the conclusion is that I do not need to buy yarn.  At all.  If my present work schedule (and resultant lack of knitting time) stays at it’s current pace, I am close to SABLE*.  So the goal for the rest of 2006 is keep up with the negative stash flow.  Doing so will greatly improve my chances of not having a negative cash flow.  To that end I’ve signed up for the continued Stashalong (starting immediately) with a few modifications:

  1. Starting May 1st, I’m allowed one day a month to buy yarn.
  2. The yarn must be purchased from one source, no multiple store shopping allowed.
  3. On the Yarn Buying Day, I am allowed to buy no more than 1 less skein than the total number of skeins that were de-stashed during the previous month.  (e.g.  I de-stash 10 skeins, I am allowed to buy 9.)
  4. If the yarn buying day is not used in a given month it can not be carried over to the next month.  The total number of skeins de-stashed does not carry over either.
  5. Existing memberships with Rowan and the STR club can be renewed and any yarn received as part of those memberships or renewals does not count towards Yarn Buying Day.

I’m going to try and be good, but I don’t think my ‘outs’ are too lenient do you? 

And now a poll.  At what point to you consider yarn to be de-stashed?  When it becomes part of a work in progress, or when that item is finished? 

*Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy

**Warm and cozy shop with a great selection of books, bags and higher end yarns.

***Just a few hundred yards from Exit 59 on the Merritt/Wilbur Cross.  Kind of messy but a huge selection of yarns and notions and everyone I’ve ever dealt with there has been very nice.  A great way to break up the drive to NY/NJ. 

~ by Kat on March 31, 2006.

8 Responses to “March De-stashing Summary”

  1. It’s destashed only when the item is finished. Or when you gift some yarn to someone.

    Have you heard about Destash yet? http://destash.blogspot.com/

    I found some things when I was rummaging around preparing for April 1 that should probably be destashed because I’ll never knit with them…

  2. I take them off my “list” (yea, I have one organized by weight) when I start a project. I like the rules, what’s the old saying “rules are meant to be broken.” 🙂

    Love your new knitting bag — I’m in the market for a new bag . . .

  3. sounds like a good plan, actually sounds like the little contest/game we started over on my blog. Yarn Focus Challenge. Very similar, everyone is allowed one free day a month, although days to carry over. It runs for 3 months. Any day you mess up you have to restart your ticker. And at the end, everyone donates enough yarn to make a pair of socks or a scarf, and the winner gets the pot of yarn! I hope it helps me focus and plan out my yarn buying adventures more intelligently.

    Good luck to all of us!

  4. I think it’s only destashed when the object is finished.

    But what if you hate the sweater and frog it? Is it stash again? Or is it exempt? I have no idea.

  5. Oh. Puh-leeze.

  6. I think if it’s finished or out of your house, it’s destashed.
    I’m considering doing the same – for sure no yarn buying in April (no buying of anything!), but I know I’ll want to again after that. We’ll see…..

  7. When you’ve cast on, of course. Then it’s either a WIP or a UFO. Natch.

    And thanks for the comment – I really love seeing what nifty things yarn gets up to, color pooling is just the coolest thing ever, I think.

    Ok, that was excessive. It’s pretty cool.
    (there.)

  8. intersting question – and something I’ve never thought about because I’ve never actually “destashed.” I think I’d count it as “destashed” after it was pulled out and set aside as a project in progress. (after making sure I’d finish it?)

Comments are closed.

 
