Miles of Yarn

While cleaning the living room this afternoon.  I found another skein of yarn.  The spreadsheet has been updated accordingly and now lists 584 skeins of yarn in detail.  The spreadsheet tracks the yarn by manufacturer, yarn name. color, dye lot, yardage, fiber content, weight, gauge, needle-size, washing and project.  Hey, when I get anal, I get anal.  All this brings me to The Contest.  Dsc_0194

Thanks to the wonders of Excel, I know how many yards are in the stash.  Thanks to the wonders of multiplication, I know how many miles of yarn are stacked in my living room.  The person who comes closest to guessing how many miles of yarn I have will win two skeins of Koigu and some other knitting goodies.  That’s .2 miles of Koigu KPM in a lovely sage green.  Guesses should be left in the comments and the contest will close on Friday afternoon at 5:00pm. 

No, the mileage number will not be affected by any de-stashing I manage to accomplish this week.

~ by Kat on April 2, 2006.

16 Responses to “Miles of Yarn”

  1. I will guess 41.5 miles of yarn. That is statute miles, if you want US nautical miles, it would be roughly 36 ๐Ÿ˜‰ Either way, thats a lot of yarn.

  2. I guess 91 miles. And your spreadsheet kicks mine’s ass! Mine only lists number of skeins, name, dyelot, fiber content and weight. Maybe I should be more anal too…..

  3. Okay, based on some pretty serious math, my guess is 57.405 miles. I feel good about that number.

  4. i’m guessing 101 miles

  5. 317 miles of yarn. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have all my stuff in KnitAble – I should export it, import it into Access, convert to a common length measurement (meters to yards), and figure this out. Darn you for making me curious… :p

  6. 42! the answer is 42!

  7. I guess that you’ve got about 66 miles of yarn.

  8. I guess 120 miles of yarn.

  9. I’ll guess 105 miles.

  10. My guess is 44 miles.

  11. hmmm . . . average skein length that’s a hard one, little skeins, big skeins . . . I’ll guess 73 miles.

  12. Eighty-three miles.

  13. My guess is 40 miles of yarn.

  14. Here goes — 584 skeins at average of 120 yards per = 70,080 yards, which equals 39.8 miles of yarn. Whoah.

    I’ll guess a nice round 40 miles.

    But perhaps I should guess 40.27 miles because that’s the exact distance from the Forest Hills train station to my house. Ok, now I’m just getting weird. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And … Koigu and I are friends again. Just sayin’.

  15. I’m guessing 61.2 miles. That’s partly based upon the abundance of sock yarn, including a whole bunch of those mega skeins of trekking. BTW, the icelandic sheep is not on the verge of extinction, but it’s good to see that you’ve stocked up on the Lite Lopi anyways.

    (I had a ton of fun viewing your stash Flickr set. Can you tell!?)

  16. I really wasn’t going to do this, but here goes…
    87.6 miles

    That Koigu even looks like pistachio, so how can I resist? ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

 
