Ouch

An injury at the soccer game this afternoon, has caused a delay in the Sockapaloooza knitting.  The field was turf, old-skool short turf.  I was playing goalie, dove for a ball and slid on my face (photo here).  I can say that knitting with an ice pack strapped to your face (covering one eye) is very difficult.  Especially since the pack covers my left eye, the one I use for close work.  Progress on the socks is being made, but in short increments as I follow the ’20 minutes on, 20 minutes off’ rule for icing injuries. 

Now, I need to come up with a good story for the injury.  Telling people at work that I slid across a soccer field on my face (while true) is kind of dull.  Any ideas?

~ by Kat on April 23, 2006.

7 Responses to “Ouch”

  1. ouch!
    i think telling people the truth isn’t dull at all.

    ooh if you’re lucky, you’ll have a shiner to explain too 😉

  2. Oh no! Feel better, Kat! My kids think that you are pretty cool, though 🙂

  3. Hmmm, perhaps it was some kind of knitting injury? Your needles were moving so fast that your knitting caught on fire and the flames hit your face?

  4. Tell folks you dived to save a little kitten that was about to get run over. The kitten was fine, you took the hit for it. 🙂

  5. Ow! Ow!

    Thwarted mugging maybe?

  6. Lawdamussy ! Girl you a mess !
    Ouch indeed. See, that’s why exercise is bad for you.

  7. well, I think the “oh, I was diving for a soccer ball and landed on my face” is a pretty damn cool excuse.

    Ouch.

Comments are closed.

 
