Socks!!!

They fit!  Both pairs.

Dsc_0002_1 A few weeks ago I got these fabulous socks from Amy.  I managed to take a photo during a sunny soccer Sunday.  Then the rains came.  And came.  And came.  I wore them most evenings to combat the cold and they were warm and cozy, and a bit of bright color during an otherwise dreary two weeks.  Thanks Amy!  You know what’s really cool?  In addition to knitting, Amy participates in roller derby!  How cool is that?  She sent me a cool button from her roller derby team that I promptly, and proudly, added to my knitting bag.  Within 24 hours I lost it.  Somewhere between the car and the allergist and the T and the office it popped off.  Rats.

I got word recently that my sockpal received her socks and they fit.  I have to say that it was intimidating this time around.  Reading her blog posts, got scarier and scarier.  Especially when Plans A and B went awry.  See, Judy teaches sock knitting and designs her own patterns.  Me?  I’m still floundering my way through the basics and experimenting.  Thankfully Plan C came through for me (and her) and the socks fit and the package made it to Oregon.

Thanks to Alison and all the Sock Moms for hosting and keeping tabs on everyone, I just wish there was a simple sock category to take some of the pressure off.

Dsc_0019 In other sock news, have I showed you the sock bag I got from Trek yet?  Ain’t it neat?  I love elephants and I love purple so this bag is perfect for me.  It will get lots of use during the Trekalong and World Cup Knitting (scroll down to May 26 entry for info) this summer.  Thanks Trek!  Since I’m destined to have more than one pair of socks on the needles this summer, I just may have to see if she is up for another swap.  If you’re looking for a sock bag, be sure and check out Trek’s inventory.

The ‘socks’ in the upper right had corner?  Those are my initial entry in the Trekalong.  I managed to cast on today at lunch and hope to finish the toe increases tomorrow night so they’ll be ready for the first hike of the season on Saturday.  Color unknown, since I promptly lost the ball band after winding into a center pull ball for toe-up two together.  Edited to add:  I found the ball band!  It’s color 135.

Wish me luck, work has just gone insane.  Again.

~ by Kat on June 1, 2006.

3 Responses to “Socks!!!”

  1. If you’ve been reading, then you must have noticed all the things that don’t work out and that I end up frogging and trying something else. 🙂

    I’m very happy to have a pair of socks that someone knit just for me! How cool is that? And the yarn you sent was awesome! (And maple candy… what more could I ask for?)

    You did good.

  2. Ooh, those *are* fabby socks.

  3. Wondrous socks indeed! Cute bag from Trek! Mine has a purple lining, white pawprints on black, and no applique. Love it.

Comments are closed.

 
