Knit Sock Kit Swap Q&A

(Wanted to get this out there.  Normal posting to resume soon.  I hope.)

What are your favorite colors? Purple is my all time favorite.  I’ve got lots of maroons, browns, blues and pinks in the wardrobe.  I’m not a fan of pale yellow or tan.  Bright yellow or a strong khaki are fine though.  Feel free to surprise me with any color.

Are you a new sock knitter? How long have you been knitting socks? I’ve been knitting socks for a year.  I still consider myself a beginning sock knitter since I like the simple patterns.

Do you prefer solid or multicolored yarn?  Multicolored.  But even some solids have beautiful variegation.  I’m not a big fan of self-patterning yarn.  It’s fun for the first repeat, after that it’s a long slog to the end.

What fibers do you prefer in sock yarn? Wool & wool blends.  Yes, I even wear wool socks in the summer. 

Where do you usually knit socks?  Here, there and everywhere! 

How do you usually carry/store small projects? I have a sock bag from Trek, and of course, the lowly, but functional, ziploc.

What are your favorite sock knitting patterns?  Boring ones.   Seriously, my standard sock is toe-up stst, after-thought heel, and a ribbed cuff.  I like their simplicity and functionality.   I keep meaning to try Jaywalkers and other more adventurous patterns.  I’m a bit concerned about how the textured patterns would feel in my shoes.

What are your favorite sock knitting techniques?  Toe up, two at a time, using the Magic Loop.  I do miss the DPNs but love avoiding the dreaded second sock syndrome.

What new techniques would you like to try?  Mastering the toe up heel flap and short-rowed heel.   I usually use the after-thought heel.

Do you prefer circulars or dpns for sock knitting?  Magic loop, but I do like knitting with DPNs.

What are some of your favorite yarns?  For socks – Artyarns Supermerino, Trekking, Regia Silk.

What yarn do you totally covet?  I don’t really covet yarn.  I’d like to get my hands on some Vesper just to see what all the hullaboo is about.  There are so many wonderful sock yarns out there.

Any pattern you would love to make if money and time were no object?  Definitely fair isle socks.  They’re gorgeous, but I doubt I have the patience for it. 

Favorite kind of needles (brand, materials, straights or circs, etc)?   That’s tough, depends on the yarn I’m using.  I do love the warmth of bamboo and wooden needles but sometimes they are too sticky.  I’m still searching for the perfect pointy-tip needle.  I do like my Addi circs since they seem to have the smoothest join for Magic Loop work, but they are stubby.

If you were a specific kind of yarn, which brand and kind of yarn would you be?  Hand-dyed alpaca from a small vendor that you can only find at a Sheep & Wool festival.

Do you have a favorite candy or mail-able snack?  Don’t have much of a sweet tooth and am perfectly happy with a Hershey bar (no almonds), thank you.  Sacrilege I know to all the choco-holics out there.  I have tons of food allergies (too many to list) which limit my intake of candy and sweets.

What’s your favorite animal?  Elephant.  They are so graceful.  Really, just watch them move.

Do you have pets? What are their species/names/ages?  Java the Pup.  She’s a chow/lab mix that I adopted from the local pound 10 years ago.

If you were a color what color would you be? Purple or Royal Blue.

Describe your favorite shirt.  A simple gray t-shirt with 3/4 sleeves and a v-neck.  Love it.

What is your most inspiring image, flower, or object in nature?  Seeing glaciers in the Canadian Rockies.

Tell me the best quote you’ve ever heard or read.  How about the best quote this week, "The Halal quick-meal carts have finally got the better of me… I am home sick today with a bout of intestinal disarray."  Or this little gem from Annie Modesitt, "Wouldn’t the terrorist bombers be pissed if they get to paradise and find out the virgins are guys?"

Do you have a wishlist? Yep – on Amazon.

~ by Kat on June 27, 2006.

 
