Wonkavator

"An elevator can only go up and down, but a Wonkavator goes sideways and slantways and longways and backways and frontways and squareways and any other ways that you can think of…"  – Willy Wonka

I want a Wonkavator. 

WonkavatorMy company is spread out over three different elevator banks.  Traveling to different floors can be a nightmare.  Especially at lunch, when you have to deal with the ‘lunch local’ on two different banks.  Besides wouldn’t it be fun to zoom sideways and frontways and all the other ways you can think of? 

As I was sharing this idea with a friend, she suggested those air tube things where you put paper in a canister and it’s whisked away to someplace else.  Much giggling ensued (what can I say, it was after 5:00 pm).  I’ve seen them at bank drive-throughs, Home Depot and at ticket counters in airports.  Anyone know what they are called?

Why all this talk of Wonkavators?  Because I had to brave two different lunch locals on my way to a very unofficial knitting group.  There is a group that meets on a fairly regular basis at work.  I’ve been invited in the past, but something always comes up that prevented me from attending.  Today, I finally made it.  It was so nice to take a break from the mayhem, sit, chat, and work a few rounds on the World Cup socks.  I’ve already got a conflict for next week, but I will go again.

~ by Kat on July 11, 2006.

2 Responses to “Wonkavator”

  1. Yay!! That’s a nice thing to look forward to in the work day.

  2. Good for you !
    I have been trying to start one here for a year now. I think I will continue to be a group of one for a while.

Comments are closed.

 
