N is for Nantucket

My favorite place on the planet. The first time we went was September 1974.  My Mom was pregnant with my youngest brother and having a difficult pregnancy, so we flew from NJ to the island (it helped that my Dad managed an airport).  I remember the weather being stormy, cold and gray the entire week.  I loved it.

We rented a little house on Lover’s Lane in Surfside.  The shoreline was so desolate and windswept.  The house came with a bunch of bikes, so I would ride into town, buy some penny candy, ride back, and spend the rest of the day reading my Judy Bloom books.  Absolute heaven to a shy, 10 year old girl. 

I’ve been there in the dead of winter and the height of summer, the spring and the fall.  I love it in all seasons.  One January weekend, I drove up from NJ to visit two friends who were out there for the winter building houses.  There were three vehicles on the ferry, all delivery trucks, and about 10 people.  When I got off the boat, I was a bit of a celebrity, my friend’s friends were so happy to have someone ‘new’ to talk to for a couple of days.  I remember going for a run and pondering the irony of the fact that it was snowing on the beach. 

We’ve stayed at Surfside, Madaket, and Tom Nevers.  I’ve walked the beach with Mr. Rogers, chatted with Jimmy Buffet in the pizza line, and, with the help of a friend of my parent’s, helped sneak my underage brother and his friend into karaoke night at the Rose & Crown.  I ‘skied’ the cliffs at Sankaty before they were off limits, helped harvest mussels off the harbor breakwaters, and ridden my bike and hiked all over the island.

Dsc_0005_edited1 Unfortunately, I haven’t been for a few years and can’t find any of my photos to scan in so you’ll have to make do with this image.  Scout’s ‘Shades of Gray’.  It’s 600 yards of lovely worsted weight merino.  The bright shades of gray remind me of the weathered cedar shingles and the sun trying to burn through the chilly foggy mornings on Nantucket.  It is destined to become a shawl or wrap, perfect for those chilly island evenings.

I hope to head out to the island with my bicycle and camera for a day or two in September.  If so, I’ll post actual island photos then.

~ by Kat on August 20, 2006.

5 Responses to “N is for Nantucket”

  1. I haven’t been to Nantucket since I was a kid. Martha’s Vineyard is just easier to get to, you know?

  2. i’ve never been to nantucket
    but i hope to go some day.

  3. I’ve never been, but it’s on my list of places to visit someday – and I loved your memories of it. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I was only on Nantucket once, on a weekend trip with a group from American Youth Hostels, when I was in high school, Labor Day weekend 1958.

    It’s really different when you know a place well enough not to be just one of the summer tourists, but have seen it in enough seasons to appreciate the reality of living there, and still love it in the winter and in the rain.

  5. Hmm . . . my Mom spent all her childhood summers on MV and refuses to even consider going to ACK (grin). I’m sure it’s a lovely place, but heaven only knows when I’ll ever get to go there . . . Can’t have Mom mad at me!

Comments are closed.

 
