What I did on my summer vacation

Dsc_0075_2
A bit of knitting.  The pepto bismal pink baby blanket is complete and has been gifted.  Of course I forgot to take a picture of it.  Another warshcloth is off the needles too.  This one was made from scraps left over from previous warshcloths, bibs and such.  Once again, I have not yet taken a photo so you’ll just have to take my word for it.  I worked on the Trekking socks, but they are still stuck in the knitting vortex.  I kept knitting around and around and around and yet the socks don’t seem any longer and the yarn ball no smaller.  What is up with that?

A bit of waiting.  The view from the Firestone store in Fairfield, CT leaves a lot to be desired.  On the plus side, the people I met there were very nice (there was even another dog there for Java to play with for a while) and lots of reading and knitting was accomplished.

A bit of reading.  I finished the Duchess of Milan, The English Assassin and started Baudolino.  It was so nice to have chunks of time for reading.  Now that I’m biking to work, finding time to read during my daily routine is difficult.  I’m going to have to find a way to make it happen.  I’m rarely able to take a lunch break, but I’m going to try and take at least half an hour during the work day to read or knit. 

A bit of socializing.  in addition to the baby P. visiting and hikes with the SIL and dogs in the Reservation, over Labor Day weekend we had a "cousins party".  Four of the Hungarian cousins (out of 9) came for a cookout with their wives and kids.  A great time was had by all.  We ate.  We drank.  We looked at old family photos.  We played tag on the front lawn.  It was such fun to run with wild abandon and ‘play’ with the little ones.  I need to do that more often.

Vineyardwool_1 A bit of stash enhancing.  The mug came from a shop in Vineyard Haven and the yarn from the Allen Farm on South Road in Chilmark. 1400 yards of native Vineyard worsted weight in a natural taupe came home on the ferry with me.  I’m currently researching appropriate gansey patterns.  It seems only natural that undyed wool from Martha’s Vineyard sheep should be knit into a gansey.  I’m looking at patterns in Alice’s Fishermen’s Sweaters and have Beth Brown-Reinsel’s gansey book next in the reading pile.  Any other ideas?

~ by Kat on September 18, 2006.

2 Responses to “What I did on my summer vacation”

  1. So busy!! Um, Thompson’s Patterns for Guernseys, Jerseys, and Arans might be useful…

  2. I’ve yet to try a Gansey. I’ll watch you and cheer you on, though. 😉

Comments are closed.

 
