R is for Ragweed

RagweedRagweed.  I hate it and it hates me.  We battle every year, and every year the damn ragweed wins.  Every year the battle is a bit different.  One year it was sinus headaches, another it was ear pain and stuffiness, another the nose was in training for an ultra-marathon, most often it’s like having a cold for 6 weeks. 

This year ragweed must have heard that I’m getting allergy shots (weeds are on maintenance during the season until the first frost, so the shots don’t send me over the edge), and it has brought out the big guns and is going after my lungs.  My inhaler is getting a workout.  Several meds have been added to my allergy arsenal and the battle goes on.

On the Vineyard, we took a ride to and through the State Forest.  It was a lovely ride, paved paths through a pine and scrub oak ‘wilderness’.  An easy ride where you could get some speed going and a few loop-di-doos thrown in for fun.  Definitely the ride we should have done earlier in the week when the Northeast winds were a blowin’ (those days we did coast rides.  Silly landlubbers.)  But I digress.  Anyway, we were riding leisurely along, the Moms were chatting and gossiping and we came upon a section of the forest that had been cleared and beyond was a lovely green field with horses.  My Mom loves horses so she wanted to stop and visit and take pictures, etc.  Me?  I was outta there!  Acres upon acres of ragweed in full bloom.  Sure, the yellows were lovely against the green and gray of the forest and the bright green of the horse pasture, but I do not want a pretty picture of my nemesis. 

I spent the rest of the day taking extra doses of Allegra and sucking on my Albuterol.  Fucking ragweed.

~ by Kat on September 24, 2006.

3 Responses to “R is for Ragweed”

  1. i’ve suffered from ragweed type allergies for years. this year, nothing. (of course i’ve probably just cursed myself). on the other hand i suffered during the spring for the first time ever. weird huh.

    i hope you feel better soon.

  2. I sympathize!

  3. I got desensitizing shots for years and years and I sympathize with you for the hay fever — but I think the pictures are of goldenrod, not ragweed. It’s in bloom at the same time but goldenrod is not what usually causes hay fever. Ragweed has very inconspicuous green flowers — NO redeeming beauty value.

Comments are closed.

 
