Vote tomorrow

Why?  Congovote_cp_10477483

Because you can.  Here, in the ‘world’s greatest democracy’ we take voting for granted.  According to this Wikipedia entry (scroll down for the stats), the US holds 34th place for voter turnout.   Pathetic.

If you don’t think you can fit voting into your busy day tomorrow, go read this article.  In 2006, there are people still fighting (and dying) for the right to cast a ballot. 

Through out the year, there is always plenty of criticism of our elected leaders and various political issues, but unless you go out tomorrow and cast your vote you shouldn’t be complaining about any political issues until AFTER you vote next November.

(Getting off my soap box and heading back to the couch to knit.)

~ by Kat on November 6, 2006.

4 Responses to “Vote tomorrow”

  1. Excellent advice! By the way, consider yourself invited (see below). Judy’s gotta work at Circles that Sunday, but she said she may try to come by for a bit.

    http://doublehelix.typepad.com/double_helix/2006/10/knit_with_me.html

  2. I’ll be at my polling place tomorrow… it’s 1/2 block from home, really, I have no excuse.

  3. I knew I wouldn’t have time to get to the voting booth tomorrow, so I cast an absentee ballot this afternoon.

    My work is done. I hope everyone else comes through. 🙂

  4. Incredible how easy we have it, isn’t it?

Comments are closed.

 
