X is for Xtravagant Xmas

Xxmas2Ho, ho, ho.

Should you be driving south along the Jamaica Way between Jamaica Pond and the Arboretum, you won’t be able to miss this house.  Hundreds of lights, thousands of lights.  Thousands of dollars for the electric bill too I bet. (Sorry for the blurry photos, I didn’t have my tripod with me.)

Dominic Luberto has decorated his house with about 250,000 Christmas lights.  Me?  I love it, but I can understand why some of his neighbors wouldn’t. 

I love Christmas lights.  Many, many moons ago when I was in college, I would come home at Christmas and take my little brothers out for a drive one night to see all the extravagant lights in the area.  We went from Millburn, to Mendham, to Livingston, to Summit and back home again.  Christmas music on the tape deck and a stop at McDonald’s along the way.  It was our way of reconnecting after I had been awayXxmas3_1
for the semester.

Good times, good times.

Back in the day there was a wonderful house you could see from the approach to the Tappan Zee
Bridge.  Very nicely done with wooden soldiers and candy canes.  I’m pretty sure it’s blocked by the sound barriers now.

Xxmas
I’ve heard rumors that there are homes in Needham, Hudson, Peabody, and West Roxbury that put on similar light displays.  I’ve got to go driving some of these nights and find them.  Any crazy light displays where you live?  I’d love to see them.

Hey, how about a contest?  Everyone who posts a photo or link to crazy light displays in their neighborhood will be entered in a contest to win some fibery fun.  Who’s in?  The contest will stay open until December 26th and I’ll announce the winner on New Year’s Day.  What better way to start the new year than with some new yarn.

See the rest of the ABC photos here.
And all the ABC posts here.

~ by Kat on December 5, 2006.

10 Responses to “X is for Xtravagant Xmas”

  1. haha so cool. i love the light displays too. even the ones that aren’t so asthetically pleasing or tasteful. on my way to my volunteering job on saturday mornings i pass by a house with an insane number of those huge blow-up santas, snowmen, etc. i need to drive by at night now.

  2. Oh, Oh, me, me! I have a kah-raaazy x-mas lights house near me. It makes Dominic look classy. Of course, Little Man loves it.

  3. Whoa. Flashbacks to the movie Christmas Vacation, anyone?!

  4. Check out the east side of Dedham….the italian section. CRAZY. The neighborhood in general is a little competitive, but there is one house…one ENTIRE yard I should say that tops them all. They supposedly even hire a santa at certain times and give out cocoa. (E-mail if you can’t figure out where…I’ll call the mother-in-law and get directions) 🙂 I don’t know if we will go this year, so I don’t know if I’ll get a picture, but….

  5. Wow, those are some lights! I love the contest idea and I know just the house to photograph. Count me in.

  6. My GOODNESS! Look at the lights! This is our first Christmas here so finding lights to enter your contest will be fun!

  7. oh my word! its soooo much and yet i think it is really cool that they’ve gone to so much trouble. i love your story about taking your little bros out to look at lights…we took the wee royalty to look at lights sunday night and of course we stopped at mcds for a little snack. luckily we have one of those radio stations that plays christmas music from thanksgiving through christmas.

    thanks for sharing — i’m always curious to know what other people’s family traditions are!

  8. Great idea! I love the crazy lights too – must go hunt out who in my neighborhood has the best display!

  9. You know – I love these lights. HOWEVER…to the morons who insist on STOPPING on the Jamaica Way to have a peak, or worse, TAKE A PICTURE WHILE THEY DRIVE BY – please stop. The road is dangerous enough.

    Rant over 😉 Because I really do love them…I just am amazed at how silly people are.

  10. Ok, so you know we are all going to be going out slowing down traffic to take a picture of the best lit house. We have a family in our community that has a Santa out in their yard, if you stop he comes to the street and hands out candy canes, maybe I can catch him in the act. I would hate to have that electric bill though, can you imagine.

Leave a Reply

 
