Boxing Day Thoughts

Wow, what a weekend.

Christmas Eve was wonderful.  Very different from the usual open house mayhem, but it was so nice to have a quiet evening at home with the family.  On the family drama front, all was relatively quiet.  The drama part of the family choose not to come on Christmas Eve, and it was so nice and relaxing.  No eggshells to step on, and no egos to coddle. I feel guilt, but for the rest of us, it was nice to not have to deal with the drama for the first time in years.

My favorite gift?  The cuppa tea my brother bought me at the Mall on Christmas Eve.  We were finishing up some last minute shopping (no Gloat Day for me this year), my sinues were hurting, we passed the Au Bon Pain on the way out of the Mall Maze and I mentioned a hot cuppa tea would be nice.  I had no intention of stopping, but then my bro offered to buy me a cup and I took him up on the offer.

My brother is special needs.  My brother is the most generous person I know.  My brother knows no barriers (race, economic, class, religion, etc.).  My brother loves to do things for others, and I continue to learn a lot from him.  I accepted the gift, in the spirit in which it was given, and it was the best cuppa tea I have ever had.  I will never forget the look on his face as he paid the $1.46, and I will always appreciate it.

After that, I took him to breakfast at our favorite greasy spoon.   It was an amazing Christmas.  The XXmas updates will be posted tomorrow, I’ve got to get the car unpacked and the laundry done tonight. 

Whatever holiday you celebrate, I hope you enjoyed your weekend.

~ by Kat on December 26, 2006.

4 Responses to “Boxing Day Thoughts”

  1. Sounds fabulous! I’m glad you had such a great holiday. Mine was really good, too!

  2. i like reading stories about your brother. he must be a joy.

  3. It sounds like a wonderfully quiet Christmas. We had Christmas with the drama part of our family but amazingly we had no drama this year. It was a good Christmas for me too.

  4. Sorry you missed out on Gloating Day, but it sounds like you had a good one anyway!

Comments are closed.

 
