Eye Candy Friday

Dsc_0034Tappan Zee Bridge, eastbound
Janauary 28, 2007

I’ve always been fascinated by the TZee bridge.  I don’t know if it’s because of the cool name, or the gorgeous views that you get driving over it, or the fact that my grandfather helped build it.  My grandfather also swam across the Hudson River at this spot (a friend followed in a row boat just in case).  Why?  Because he wondered if he could do it.

~ by Kat on February 2, 2007.

6 Responses to “Eye Candy Friday”

  1. That’s a cool bit of family history! There’s a really wonderful John Ashberry poem about bridges…

  2. I’ve always loved the Tappan Zee, too. For me it was too things: the way cool name (Zeeeeeeeee!) and its length. That was one seriously long bridge for a girl from suburban western Massachusetts.

  3. very cool! and even better that everytime you drive across you can think of your grandfather :o)

  4. Cool name and cool family connections.

  5. wow; I drove across the same bridge, same day; it was dark, though, by the time we got to it. Some building material had fallen into the roadway and everybody was going very slow to try and go around it. I was a good citizen and told the tollbooth guy about it; he called dispatch dudes to try and get the broken sharp stuff off the road.

    and hope the poor lovely doggy finds his family 😦

  6. Nice picture. That bridge always means home to me, or rather that I will be home sooner than later.
    Now I will think of your grandfather every time I cross over.

Comments are closed.

 
