June Movies

Some folks read books. Lots of books. I used to be one of those people, but these days, reading makes me sleepy. Reading also takes away from my limited knitting time. Watching movies does not make me sleepy, it allows me to maximize the knitting time. So, I watch a lot of movies (and Red Sox games and Revolution games).

I love Turner Classic Movies. And the Independent Film Channel. And Netflix. My Netflix queue has close to 200 movies in it. It’s my film stash. Just as I dream about knitting through the stash (anyone else looking forward to empty Rubber Maid bins?), I dream of watching all my Netflix movies until there are no more in the queue. Unfortunately, folks out there keep making movies and yarn. Meanies.

I guess that means I ‘have’ to keep adding to the stashes.

Movies watched in June:

The Thin Man (1934 Netflix)
After the Thin Man (1936 Netflix)
Another Thin Man (1939 Netflix)
Shadow of the Thin Man (1941 Netflix)
The Thin Man Goes Home (1944 Netflix)
Song of the Thin Man (1947 Netflix)
Does it get any better? Dick Powell and Myrna Loy were brilliant as Nick and Nora Charles. The banter, the repartee, the cocktails! Unfortunately, as the series progresses the movies get worse, although they do have their moments.

The Woman in Green (1945 Turner Classic Movies)
Terror by Night (1946 Turner Classic Movies)
I am not a fan of the Basil Rathbone version of Sherlock Holmes. I much prefer Jeremy Brett’s Sherlock as seen in the Granada/PBS series. I never tire of watching those.

Harvey (1950 Turner Classic Movies)
Another one that is hard to pass up when it’s on TV. This was the movie that turned me into a Jimmy Stewart fan (Shop Around the Corner is another favorite). No one else could have played Elwood P. Dowd so honestly.

Picture Bride (1994 Independent Film Channel)
A beautiful film, about a demographic/culture that I had never given any thought to.

Finding Neverland (2004 Netflix)
Yes, I have a huge crush on Johnny Depp althugh I was a bit disappointed in this one. The best part? Seeing a familiar face from The Office (BBC version) and Pirates of the Carribbean, and Dustin Hoffman as the producer.

Homicide Life on the Streets Season One Seasons 1 and 2 (Netflix)
Volumes One and Two. I loved this show, and was crushed when it was canceled. Yet another example of network television sinking to the level of the LCD. I’m pretty sure reality shows swamped TV Guide around the same time.

Seen any good movies lately?

~ by Kat on July 7, 2007.

5 Responses to “June Movies”

  1. LOL – I am the complete opposite! I haven’t turned on my tv since, um, March? April? But I do get a lot of reading done while I knit.

  2. I, too, love the Thin Man movies… Hmmm… Might be time to pull one out for knitting inside during the upcoming heat wave.

  3. Ohhh – I’ve never watched the Nick and Nora movies, but I’ve always wanted to! I’ll have to add them to the queue! We’ve recently seen The Queen (very good), Vertigo (very good), and Syriana (very good), and more I’m sure I’m forgetting.

  4. i feel your pain. i can’t read while knitting, and haven’t been reading much of late. however, i figure i’ll be reading plenty when i start grad school in lit in the fall, so for now it’s yarn and movies. my netflix queue is also quite large, and last night i saw one i really enjoyed. stranger than fiction was interesting and sweet without being sappy. it was also funny, but not in will farrell’s typical obnoxious way. i highly recommend it!

  5. Homicide is my hubby’s favorite tv show ever. We have watched a few seasons and I get confused because we watch them out of order. It is awful. I like the show though

Leave a Reply

 
