Eye Candy Friday

Forest Hills Lantern Festival
Jamaica Plain, MA
July 12 2007

I wasn’t able to make dragon boat practice yesterday.
I did make it home in time to get to the Lantern Festival.
Yes , I cried. I always do at this event. The Lantern Festival is based on a Buddhist ceremony to honor the dead. This event is a beautiful blending of cultures. A beautiful blending of life and death. A beautiful celebration of life.

This year I thought of LaQuarrie. He was there the night I helped to make the paper lanterns at our local community art center. Such a sweet, creative, little boy, decorating a lantern, drawing pictures, and entertaining us with his creative innocence. A few days later he was gone. A victim of a family tragedy .

Enjoy, celebrate, appreciate the people in your life. It can all change tomorrow.

~ by Kat on July 13, 2007.

5 Responses to “Eye Candy Friday”

  1. A lovely reminder…

  2. {Kat}

  3. That’s a beautiful photo. I think it really captures the beauty and the solemnity of the moment.

  4. Thanks so much for the pics of this year’s event. I hope to go next year. Maybe the kids and I will just send our own lantern down the river some day.

  5. The world is such a small place.

Leave a Reply

 
