July Movies

A slow month movie wise. Wimbledon, the Tour de France, and Revolution and Red Sox games cut into my usual movie watching and knitting time.  Here’s a brief summary of what I did watch:

Homicide Life on the Street Seasons 1 and 2 (1993 Netflix)
Volumes 3 and 4
I love Frank Pembleton. Season 3 is only a few movies away in the queue, yay!
Dodsworth (1936 Netflix)
I love the ending, everyone gets what they deserve.
Party Monster (2003 Netflix)
Um, not.  The documentary version is next.  I was very disappointed with the acting in this one.

Baby Face (1933 Turner Classic Movies)
Barbara Stanwyck is one cool bitch. In a good way.
Come Fly With Me (1963 Turner Classic Movies)
Just good, wholesome fun with the guys and gals.
Pride and Prejudice (1940 Turner Classic Movies)
Greer Garson was great as Lizzy, but the recycled costumes from Gone With the Wind bothered me. I hate it when period pieces are inaccurate. Olivier was OK as Mr. Darcy.
Test Pilot (1938 Turner Classic Movies)
With Clark Gable, Myrna Loy, Lionel Barrymore, Marjorie Main, and Spencer Tracy – I had high hopes for this one. Alas, I was disappointed.

In America (2002 IFC)
I love this movie. If you watch, have a box of tissues handy.

~ by Kat on August 4, 2007.

5 Responses to “July Movies”

  1. I’m impressed – I didn’t even turn on my tv in July. 🙂

  2. “we’re on holidays!” sometimes, a movie is just what you need! that party monster.. cracks me up. all I can see him is in home alone!

  3. I love Homicide – I catch it in reruns on Sleuth.

  4. I agree – Homicide is the best. If you like that, I’m almost positive you’ll like The Wire – have you seen it? The first three seasons are on Netflix….

  5. ..and Da’s not working !
    I love that movie. I watch whenever I can, my eyes are welling up at the thought, pure love.

    Homicide is one of my favorites and the Wire is the best. Both written and produced by the same people. An ex-cop amd a former public school teacher from Ball’mer. I like to watch the Wire and play spot the actor who has appeared in both shows.

    An interest5ing aside,I heard on the radio that the character Det. Munch has appeared in 10 television shows. My favorite line from Law and Order/SVU is when Ice-tTsays to Munch, “Yea
    I heard about that dive you owned in Baltimore”

Leave a Reply

 
