August Movies

The Red Sox didn’t cut in to too much of my movie watching time.  Mainly because I was working late most days and got home after the game was over.  Thankfully TCM and IFC air movies 24/7.  With all this movie watching, I really should be more productive with my knitting.

  • The Shop Around the Corner (1940 TCM) Jimmy Stewart and a Hungarian setting? How can I not like this film? I love how all the names, signs, labels, place and food names are in Hungarian.
  • Party Monster – the Shockumentary (1998 Netflix) Much better than the dramatic version. And shorter.
  • The Best Years of Our Lives (1946 TCM) Subtle, but powerful. Every time I watch it, I pick up on something new. If you know anyone in the military, you should watch this movie. Homer is a lucky, lucky man.
  • The Women (1939, TCM) Yes. Again. I love this movie, and can’t pass it up when I find it on cable. Much better than the remake. Another remake will be filming in Boston this fall. The cast looks interesting. I can totally see Kathy Griffin as Olga the manicurist, and Candice Bergan as Mary’s mother.
  • Auntie Mame (1958 TCM) One of my all time favorites. Rosalind Russell is absolutely perfect as Auntie Mame. The Lucille Ball remake, doesn’t hold a candle to the original.
  • Stage Door (1937 TCM) This one is rightup there with The Women and Auntie Mame as one of my all time favorite films. What a cast – Katherine Hepburn, Ginger Rogers, Lucille Ball, Eve Arden, Ann Miller, Jack Carson, and Adolphe Menjou to name a few. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite Hepburn film, but this is in the top 3 along with Desk Set and the Philadelphia Story.
  • Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002 Netflix) Meh. It was OK. When I was a kid in the 70’s, I would run home from the school bus so I could watch The Gong Show. Well, that, and the New Zoo Revue. What can I say? I was an odd kid.
  • Sideways (2004 Netflix) I’m a bit late to the party on this one. Despite the hype, and my admiration for Sandra Oh, and nostalgic (Wings) fondness for Thomas Haden Church, or maybe because of my fondness for beer (Ipswich Ale rocks!), I don’t think I missed anything.
  • The Station Agent (2003 IFC) Peter Dinklage is awesome. Maybe it’s a Jersey thing, but I love this movie. The visual story telling is so subtle. The first 15 minutes are amazing.
  • Detective Story (1951 TCM) Wow. What a gritty and powerful film.
  • Mansfield Park (1999 IFC) Lovely movie.
  • Woman of Straw (1964 TCM) Great movie and Sean Connery is just dead sexy in it. Then again, when is Sean Connery not dead sexy? The ending is awesome.
  • The Hill (1965 TCM) Amazing movie. Once again, Sean Connery is dead sexy in it.

The September list could be pretty sparse.  The Red Sox are in the home stretch (when will they win again?), the Revs are in the home stretch, the EPL season is underway, the Giants are getting started, and the US Open is, well, it’s the US Open (I really want James Blake to win it all).  And I’ve got two dragon boat races this month.

Damn, I watch a lot of sports.

~ by Kat on September 1, 2007.

3 Responses to “August Movies”

  1. You and I have very similar tastes in movies. I, too, love The Women and Stage Door. Hmmm…. Those might be worth owning, actually…

  2. Oh dear, I don’t know if I’ve seen Stage Door. I LOVE Desk Set! 🙂

  3. I love Shop around the Corner, and Detective Story is very good as well.

Leave a Reply

 
