Meme Tunes and a bit of ‘base-a-ball’

I found this over at Judy’s place – Copy this list; leave in the bands you’ve seen perform live; delete the ones you haven’t, and add new ones that you have seen until you reach 25. An asterisk means the previous person had it on their list. Two asterisks means the last two people who did this before you had that band on their list. Three asterisks, etc. I tried to stick with nationally known groups, rather than all the local Boston/NYC bands I’ve seen over the years.

1. Grateful Dead My second concert ever. And a few dozen more after that.
2. Tom Petty Damn, he’s good.
3. Aretha Franklin She changed gowns between each song, it was a bit much to put up with.
4. Genesis Saw them a couple of times. Sadly, all were after Peter Gabriel left to pursue a solo career.
5. REM First time I saw them (third row center at the Passaic Theater in NJ) I had no idea what I was in for. Michael Stipe came out in a skirt and I’ve been a fan ever since.
6. U2 Again, I had no idea what I was in for. Had never heard of them, just got back from a soccer game and no one was around. A frined came down the hall, saying they had an extra ticket and would I like to go. Heck, why not. I think I went out and bought all their albums the next day. (Yes, I saw them, back in the day of albums.)
7. James Brown* I even danced on stage with him at the Saratoga Jazz Festival! It certainly pissed off the guy I was dating/breaking up with. (Excellent.)
8. Bon Jovi A friend asked if I wanted to go. Why not? Much fun was had.
9. Sheryl Crow She opened for Bon Jovi at the show above. Damn, I wish I had her energy.
10. The Boston Pops* Is there anyone who has lived in Boston for an extended period who hasn’t seen them?
11. Bruce Springsteen (I’ve seen him twice- once at the opening of the Brendan Byrne Arena in NJ (AWESOME!), the second time, at Gillette Stadium (HORRIBLE!) Sorry Cara.
12. CSN (and Y) Many, many times, in many iterations. Most of them on The Pier in NYC. Yes, it was a popular concert venue for my crowd back in the day.
13. Tom Jones Oh yeah baby! Is there anyone better for a girls night out?
14. Bob Marley* Anyone remember going to shows on The Pier in NYC? Every summer we’d go to all the reggae shows on The Pier. I have fond memories, of sitting on the end of the pier with the younger brother of my then BF watching the sunset. Letting his big brother get away is my sole regret on the dating front.
15. Yellowman* Another reggae show at The Pier. Good times, good memories, good music.
16. Dave Brubeck It really doesn’t get any better than this. Oh, how I wish I could play piano.
17. Buckwheat Zydeco You can’t help but to dance to his music. He was playing local clubs in NYC when I was living there.
18. Styx My first concert ever. I’ve seen them as recently as last summer. It’s sooo much fun to sing along with the oldies and they still know how to put on a great show.
19. Willie Nelson My first college BF, was a huge fan, so I bought him tickets to his annual 4th of July Picnic at Giants Stadium for his birthday. Ehhh. It was fun, but country isn’t really my thing.
20. Aerosmith Saw them twice. Once at WBCNs birthday party at the Worcester Centrum and again at Woodstock. These guys now how to rock, and, are very nice people too.
21. Green Day Saw them at Woodstock ’94, much fun! Thanks to VIP tickets, I managed to stay away from the mudfest.
22. Bruce Hornsby and the Range Saw them at Earth Day at Foxboro in the early 90s. It was such a perfect spring day, I remember telling a friend, “I wish the Dead were playing”, and then Bruce Hornsby came out and opens up with Bertha. Yes, I was a happy, spinning, hippy chick.
23. Al Jarreau* I was in Philly for work. Called a friend for a drink, and he said sure, wanna come to a concert? I said sure. I had heard of Al Jarreau, but didn’t really know what to expect. Amazing show, on an amazing summer night.
24. Ladysmith Black Mambazo Wow. Their Harvard shows always sold out, I finally got to see them via Nomathemba. Absolutely amazing.
25. Jackson Browne Love him. Jackson and his lyrics got me through HS. I know every word to every song up until Running On Empty.

Leave a comment if you do this, I’d love to see what bands we have in common.

And, just in time, he’s back! Woo-hoo! Me? Well, I got home from work just in time to catch the 9th inning. When he swung the bat, I (along with the rest of Red Sox nation) was on my feet nudging the ball fair and far. Lorette certainly picked a great game to go to.

~ by Kat on September 13, 2007.

6 Responses to “Meme Tunes and a bit of ‘base-a-ball’”

  1. […] stealing this from Kat because it’s been days since I last posted and because I have so little to offer otherwise. […]

  2. LOL – I’m way too alternative/folky for this one! Have seen REM out of all that… Other random shows include Greg Brown, Leonard Cohen, the Mountain Goats, Pere Ubu, the Feelies, Drivin’n’Cryin’, Ween, Game Theory, Son Volt, Bob Mould, the Violent Femmes, and many, many more I can’t remember…

  3. I love Styx – we just saw them a couple of weeks back. Tommy is my crush!

  4. i love this post. it was so fun to read about the shows you’ve seen. i recently tried listing all the bands i’ve seen live and capped out at 197 but i know there are more.

    i love these types of lists. great read. 🙂

  5. Hmmm. I might have to try this one. My bands would be totally different. I think U2, CSNY, and Tom Jones are the only common factors!
    The game was terrific! What an ending!

  6. I did it! I did it! This was a fun meme, probably because I was too lazy to do the links.

Leave a Reply

 
