Car Karaoke – a Contest

I like to drive. 

Last week, I did a fair bit of driving for work.  From here to there, and back again.  Several times.  The iPod got a lot of use.  I had a great time driving along, singing along, ‘dancing’ along, and generally having a good time enjoying music that I don’t get to listen to often enough. And while I enjoyed it, I realized that the content is rather stale.  Which brings me to my point, fall is the beginning of the driving season and I need some inspiration on the car karaoke front.  The content on the iPod hasn’t changed much over the last year or so.  Other than some Rick Berlin and Outkast additions, the content has been stable.  Although I am searching for mp3 versions of some Garage Dogs tunes (Greg Louganis and World of Shit to be specific.)  My current favorites are (in no particular order):

  • Naive Melody – Talking Heads
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Diana Ross
  • One Mint Julep – Ray Charles
  • I’ll Be Around – The Spinners
  • You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
  • Breathless – The Corrs
  • Mr. Jones – Counting Crows
  • We Care A Lot – Faith No More
  • Nothing is Good Enough – Aimee Mann
  • Morris Brown – Outkast

 I need some new tunes for the Fiber Twist excursion and the three week east coast tour in November (NY, DC, NJ, and parts unknown).   So what I’m looking for are YOUR favorite car karaoke songs.  What do you sing along to as you are driving down the highway?  Everyone who makes a suggestion in the comments will be entered to win a fibery prize.  (I’ll post the prize details over the weekend.)  Deadline for suggestions is Saturday, October 5th (that way I can spend the long weekend playing with music!).

Thanks for helping out a knitter in a musical rut.

~ by Kat on September 27, 2007.

39 Responses to “Car Karaoke – a Contest”

  1. The best for singing along in my book are: Journey, Dusty Springfield, Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye, the Beatles (especially excellent for volume and short song length), and don’t knock it, Paul Simon. Oldies but goodies. I sing along to everything – even if I’m not in the car. My personal karaoke song (car or otherwise) is Son of a Preacher Man, by Dusty Springfield. Great stuff.

  2. ok.!! I heart any 80’s (more alternitve, less pop)! , Erasure, Depeche Mode..then Dave Mathews.. Van Halen…GooGooDolls..Journey!..PRINCE!..All American Rejects! Taking Back Sunday! Jimmy Eat World! The Clash! Fall Out Boy! Smashmouth! ok.. that’s all I can think of off the top of my head! And..ofcourse.. any of the standards we all know and love 😉 the song I hear and sing my hear out to.. Just Like HEaven..the Cure!

  3. Fountains of Wayne, “Stacey’s Mom” in particular – that song tickles me! And, er, the soundtrack from “Dreamgirls” is awesome.

  4. Can I skip the suggestions and just send you a cd? 🙂

  5. In no particular order:

    REM – I am Superman
    Billy Bragg – Sexuality
    Social Distortion – Far Behind
    Casa de Leones – No Te Veo
    The Clash – Rudie Can’t Fail or Brand New Cadillac
    Husker Du/Bob Mould — almost anything
    Earth, Wind & Fire — almost anything
    Pat Benatar — almost anything
    Ray Charles – Hit the Road Jack
    The Standells – Love that Dirty Water
    Matthew Sweet – Girlfriend
    James Hunter – almost anything

    Okay, must stop now.

  6. I don’t know if you like a capella(sp?) but Rockapella has some amazing songs. Their remakes of just about everything are so much fun. I find myself hearing the original versions and singing the rockapella arrangement anyway.

  7. I guess I better chime in as I have more at stake than most. Heh.
    Olivia By the Whispers, Hot Fun in the Sunner Time Sly & The Family Stone, Respect, Pain -The Ohio Players, anything Stevie Wonder, Folsom Prison by Mr.Johmnny Cash, Nessum Dorma.. well I may not sing that !

  8. […] looking for suggestions for new music to listen to while she drives. Leave a comment with your suggestions by October 6 and you might win a fibery […]

  9. Anything by Sister Hazel – especially their Fortress CD. Also – Pat McGee Band, Cowboy Mouth (Are You With Me? CD) and Barenaked Ladies.

    Happy Driving!

  10. We listen to a lot of Vacation Bible School soundtracks in our minivan: Serengeti Trek (2005), SonForce Kids (2007), and Avalanche Ranch (2007). Neatnik knows all the words.

  11. Anything by the Doobie Brothers…am I dating myself yet???? :).. listening to M.MacDonald is always great..
    Also love Tom Cochrane…Life is a Highway…

  12. Soundtrack from the musical “Evita” (the stage production, not the movie). Serious car diva stuff. I take it on all my long drives. By myself, since the rest of the family doesn’t want to hear me channeling Patti LuPone channeling Eva Peron.

  13. Earth, Wind & Fire: “Way of the World” and “September,” if I have to pick out a few of their songs. Always puts me in a good mood!

  14. I switched over to podcasts about a year ago, and I haven’t been listening to much music since, except what the podcasts are playing.

    Some great podcasts:
    Coverville — plays cover versions of songs you love. There’s really something there for everyone, and there are years of back episodes for you to listen to.

    Lime & Violet knitting podcast — which is where I discovered Deirdre Flint, a very funny singer

    Cast On knitting podcast — she also plays some fabulous music on the show

  15. REM – It’s the End of the World As We Know It
    U2- Angel of Harlem
    REO Speedwagon — Keep on Lovin’ You
    anything off Neko Case’s Fox Confessor Brings the Flood
    Replacements – Achin’ to Be

    Have fun!

  16. U2, Achtung Baby

    Classic Bon Jovi — Slippery When Wet era

    Catie Curtis (http://catiecurtis.com) — Kiss that Counted and My Shirt Looks Good on You

    Happy travels!

  17. I have kids so the thing I find myself listening to and singing is silly songs by Disney, Craaaazzzzzy songs on those tapes!

  18. Any of the Big Bad Voodoo Daddy songs are great. We can’t forget Queen. Also Blackmore’s Night is FANTASTIC! E-mail me if you’re interested and I’ll send you a CD of some of their best songs.

  19. I only karaoke under my motorcycle helmet. Lately it has been from the Momma’s and the Pappa’s and some Janis of her Pearl album. Give those a try!!

  20. Some gotta haves:
    Sweet Home Alabama/Lynard Skynard
    The Female of the Species/Space
    Tubthumping/Chumbawamba
    I Will Survive/Gloria Gaynor
    Saturday Night Fever soundtrack
    Bohemian Rhapsody
    More Than a Feeling/Boston

    Just a start. What a great idea for a contest!

  21. Gnarls Barkely – Crazy, Fergie – Big Girls Don’t Cry, Nelly Furtado – Say It Right, Pink – ‘Cuz I Can, Nina Simona – * , CCR – *, Scandal – * …. Yes, a wee bit eclectic.

  22. Albums:
    Graceland by Paul Simon
    Play by Moby

    Songs:
    Feel Good Inc. by Gorillaz
    Rockefeller Skank by Fat Boy Slim
    Holiday by Green Day

    happy driving!

  23. Ok, so not everybody has the same taste in music but this is me…
    Johnny Cash
    Korn
    Rob Zombie
    Slipknot
    Judas Priest
    Metallica
    Megadeth
    Iron Maiden
    Slayer
    Aerosmith

  24. 1. I’m not much of a country music fan, but I love it on long drives.
    2. Bruce Springsteen
    3. Johnny Cash (I’ve been everywhere, man..)

    Also, on really long trips a book on tape can make the time fly.

  25. A local band here…Wild Colonial Bhoys…always makes for good rocking in the car. And Indigo Girls…the upbeat stuff. When we go road tripping, my friend Sarah has a mix of all the terrible 80s stuff that we remember from jr high (for her), high school (for me). It’s always fun to hear those songs I haven’t thought about in ages!

  26. Sara Bareilles – Las Vegas, City Lights (both from her album Little Voice) If you ever have a chance to hear her live, her voice will blow you away.

    Rilo Kiley – Does He Love You?

    Anna Nalick – In My Head

  27. I like to listen to podcasts instead. No singing, but you can catch up on the news . . .

  28. I (sing) listen to Alicia Keys. If only I sounded like her….

  29. Beach Boys!
    A cappella offerings:
    Alley Cats, http://www.thealleycats.com/
    Tonic Sol Fa, http://www.tonicsolfa.com/
    Power Play, http://www.singers.com/barbershop/powerplay.html (barbershop, 2003 Internat’l champs), album “Love At Home” is in my car right now

  30. I love to listen to anything from Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, or Otis Redding on road trips. It’s upbeat and singalongalicous!

  31. Chris sent me over… My favorite howling music is Dino Martino sings Italian favorites (very hoakey I know), and also kd lang, especially the one she did of Patsy Cline music.

  32. You will think I am nuts, but I had a seriously fun time playing the soundtrack to Alias and wearing my dark sunglasses while driving through Wisconsin once. Pretend you are a secret agent.

  33. Honestly when a car trip is in order and i am unable to make a new cd, or time allowing: Pick up a few mixes from your favorite movie soundtracks! They have a fun variety plus you remember those “movie moments”!

  34. Ooh, tough call. If the traffic is heavy then I listen to something extremely mellow like classical. If I’m feeling rebellious then I go straight for ACDC and if I’m just being silly then ABBA.

  35. ZZ Top is absolutely required for a road trip. (I read that in one of the Prey series books by John Sandford; it must be true.) Springsteen’s Pete Seeger Sessions CD is great for singing along — it’s all old folk songs. Old Simon & Garfunkel, or any of Paul Simon’s songs, are perfectly suited for singing along. I happen to be a die-hard Stones fan, so I like them, too, although more for doing housework to than for driving. Broadway show tunes are good, too, if you are into that.

  36. ha! well since i drive a mini which has a very retro vibe, i think anyway, my favorite tunes for driving are retro as well. really old retro. my current favorites include dean martin (volare etc.), frank sinatra (mack the knife, etc.) and someone who does the retro thing really well, michael buble.

    i can’t help but car dance when i’m listening to those guys. funny thing, i don’t listen to any of them when i’m not in the car.

  37. I’m listening and singing along with Jimmy Buffett’s box set, “Boats, Beaches, Bars and Ballads”. It’s a 4 cd set.

  38. Favourite songs, not favourite artists? Very hard to choose. A few that always get my family singing along are:

    The Other Kind – Steve Earle
    Piece Of My Heart – Janis Joplin
    Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

    Yes, I realize that none of these are new songs. We do listen to newer music, just not in the car.

  39. Oh, you totally need “Eternal Flame” by The Bangles….nothing like a good cheesy belt out when you get droozy on the beltway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
