Coming up for air

Sorry for the extended absence, just the usual work mayhem and craziness around here. In spite of the work obligations, there has been knitting, there has been yarn buying, and iTunes playing and purchasing.

On the knitting front, I am currently addicted to feather & fan. The gwfgwf dishcloth is done and awaiting it’s bath. It’s currently hanging out in the laundry pack basket with the Baby Barbie blanket (yes, I finally managed to weave in the ends on that project last night). The dishcloth was actually a swatch for a blanket for the nephew to be. For the blanket I’m using Cascade 220 Superwash on size 8’s and loving the results. Look for photos this weekend (the interior ones are crap so far).

On the yarn buying front, I took a page from Stephanie’s book and with one major work project winding down, I bought myself some reward yarn. OK, I confess, I bought myself a bunch of reward yarn. First up, some Kauni yarn to knit the Autumn Cardigan. The yarn arrived today (OMG, I’m verklempt at the thought of starting it. I can’t wait to get started, but I’m terrified by the concept of my first steek. I’m actually thinking of converting it to a pullover so I don’t have to break out the scissors. Oh lordy, what have I gotten myself into?) I ordered the kit from Fun Knits. I will definitly order from them again. But that’s not all, Columbus Day was Windsor Button’s annual sale and in addition to the 3 skeins of Cascade 220 for the baby blanket, some Handmaiden Sea Silk, Regia Silk sock yarn and a skein of J.Knits laceweight (gorgeous!) found their way in to my shopping cart. Once again, photos when Mother Nature cooperates.

I’m still finalizing the Car Karaoke playlist. You guys were too good at providing musical inspiration. I’d click on a link, listen to a song, remember another one, click, listen, remember, click, listen, remember, rinse, repeat. I’m working on finalizing the song list. Yes, it will be posted here when finalized. In the meantime, the Car Karaoke winners are Tanya, blogless Diane, and blogless Diana. The winners have been contacted via e-mail.

In another note, a friend lost someone dear to them recently. Take a moment, cherish those who are close to you, and say a prayer (however it is you pray) for those who are no longer with us and those they have left behind.

~ by Kat on October 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “Coming up for air”

  1. Good to hear you’re still afloat! šŸ™‚ Did the cds ever arrive??

  2. Hey there. Sorry for the delay. Between a tweeked back and an anniversary trip to vegas….i am back! Cool, i can’t believe i won! So how did the music work for your trip. I was loving reading about your journey having lived in that area for wuite a few years, it was fun to recognize some of the places! I will look for your email addy to give you my snail. (moonhonu@yahoo.com)

Leave a Reply

 
