To Hell in a Handbasket

Such a quaint turn of phrase, but the ominous music in the background can’t be a good sign.  I had been looking forward to November.  One crazy project is winding down, I’m off to DC for a really interesting and intellectually stimulating conference, then a week of quality (if stressful) time with the family, and then a week of vacation, glorious vacation.  Up until this past Monday afternoon, I was going to be out of the office for a whole 3 weeks!!  Alas, on Monday afternoon Project From Hell II was dropped in my lap.  Turns out that light at the end of the tunnel was an on coming train.  Commenting and e-mails will be sparse for the next few months.

To make my week even worse, I’ve spent my limited knitting time unknitting.  I got a bit cocky with the Nephew-to-be’s blanket.  For 16″ of Feather & Fan, I sailed along with nary a mistake.  I knit on the T, I knit in bars, I knit while watching the ALDS, the ALCS, and the World Series.  The rhythm of the stitch and the pattern was intuitive.  On more than one occasion, I would remember I was knitting, look down at my work and be amazed at the progress.  I would count stitches and check the pattern and be amazed that all was well with the Knitting Goddess.  I think the Knitting Goddess started celebrating the Sox victory a bit early during Game 4, because somehow (and I’m still trying to find it) I picked up an extra stitch.  Grrrr.

What is surprising me is that I am hunting down that extra stitch.  It will be eradicated from the blanket!  When did I become such a perfectionist?  Why don’t I just knit two stitches together and be done with it?  Why can’t I win the lottery?

Why, Bilmore, why?

~ by Kat on November 1, 2007.

3 Responses to “To Hell in a Handbasket”

  1. Ooh! When will you be in D.C.? Maybe if you have a free evening, we can meet up for a coffee or a drink and knit.

  2. Oh my – hang in there!!

  3. does this mean you have to cancel your vacation?

Leave a Reply

 
