Rev-O-lu-shun (clap, clap, clap-clap-clap)

kick.jpg 

The New England sports mojo continues.  Yes!  Let’s hope the fourth time is the charm.  I was there when the Revs lost to the Galaxy in injury time.  I was shouting at the tv last year.  This year, I am trying to extend my DC trip so I can stay an extra day and go to MLS Cup.  Must follow up with the Midnight Riders tomorrow to see if I can get a ticket in the supporters section.  ETA:  I got a ticket!!  Woo-hoo!  Let’s go Revs!

For the record, neither the Patriots, the Bruins, or the Celtics are on my sports radar.  I am all about the Red Sox and the Revolution.  I’ve loved the Red Sox since the mid 70s.  As a Mets fan growing up in northern NJ, I had to adopt the rivals of the Yankees as my own.  I’ve been a Revolution fan since their birth.  I have team signed jersey with Alexi Lalas’ signature.  Steve Nicol rocks.  I think Paul Mariner is sexy.  Taylor Twellman and Matt Reis don’t get enough respect from the US national team.  Stevie Ralston has discovered the fountain of youth (I hope he shares it’s location with Curt Schilling).  And Shalrie Joseph is just fuckin’ awesome.

Knitting?  What’s that?  I can’t knit and watch the Revs at the same time.  Plenty of yarn cakes were wound (in record time, thank you very much, thanks to the one goal lead) to carry me through the next three weeks and beyond.  In addition to the baby blanket, I’m packing yarn, needles, and patterns for numerous socks, scarves, shawls and hats.  Why do we knitters consistently over-estimate the knitting that can be accomplished while traveling?  I’m packing supplies for umpteen projects.  I’ll be happy if I come back with 2 FOs (including the blanket that is almost done).

~ by Kat on November 9, 2007.

4 Responses to “Rev-O-lu-shun (clap, clap, clap-clap-clap)”

  1. I don’t know why, but I’m always optimistic (read: deluded) about trip knitting. I feel under-prepared for my overnight trip away with a half finished sock and a 1/10th finished lace scarf in my bag.

    Good luck to the Revolution! Not a sport I follow, but I’ll be rooting quietly over here for them!

  2. Oh, haha… I do the same thing and pack for what would be 3 pairs of knitted socks for one week of vacation. Yeah, right! I’m lucky if I get 1/2 of one sock done!

    I saw the Rev highlights on the news… that was one hell of a kick!!

  3. clap-clap clapclapclap!
    Steve Nichols plays on my hubbys oldman soccer team..some say that might be an unfair advantage.. but, it’s pretty cool anyway!! GO REVS!

  4. Well, Cheryl at Cabled Sheep ran out of yarn about 10 miles from home (on the way back) on her latest trip, so – you can’t be too careful!

Leave a Reply

 
