Yarn Diet – Busted!

Wanna see the yarn I bought at Gore Place?  Yeah, I bought some yarn.  I wasn’t planning on it.  The plan was to get out and about on a beautiful spring day.  To try and get some good photos of the sheep dog demos.  The fact that I stopped at the bank on my way there to get some cash is just coincidental.

The yarn that started it all:  Ellie’s Reclaimed Cashmere.

That’s approximately 400 yards of lovely recycled cashmere.  You can read more about the process here.  The colorways that she creates are gorgeous.  I had a tough time deciding between the purplely one above and an amazing red.

Once the seal on the wallet was broken, it was all downhill.  Downhill to Springbrook Alapca Farm.  I picked up two skeins of natural alpaca.  One each in cream and brown.  The cream is absolutely amazing.  Amazingly soft even for alpaca.  There is just over 100 yards in each of these skeins, so I’ll be taking my time picking the pattern.

Cream

Brown

And the final yarny purchase of the day?  1,470 yards of 100% wool from Bartlett Yarns for less than $50!  It’s hard to beat that deal.  I love the rustic feel of this yarn.  The wool is soft with lanolin and I plan to knit this up into a simple pullover.  I’ve got to do a bit of swatching (Did I just say that?) with it. 

 

(Yeah, I have a thing for purples. You wanna make something of it?)

And at the end of a long day’s wandering, I got to put these on my feet:

Now, I REALLY need to start knitting again.

~ by Kat on April 29, 2008.

5 Responses to “Yarn Diet – Busted!”

  1. lovve the yarn, diet is a four letter word, it should not be used in any context 😉

  2. Wow! When you break a diet, you do it with STYLE! 🙂

  3. are those booties new? because they’re kick ass.

  4. Hey if you’re going to break a yarn diet, then you should do it right. 🙂 Nice yarn! I like those boots too.

  5. When did you go to Gore Place ?
    I was there and totally missed you.
    No yarn purchased here though.

Leave a Reply

 
