Remember me?

Is it really June next week?  Damn.  I’ve got to crank up my training a notch or two.  Or four.  The 32 miles I rode on Sunday won’t be enough. 

“Enough for what?”, you ask.  Enough to finish the full-blown PMC in August.  Yes, I am a crazy woman.  Yes, I signed up to ride my bicycle from Sturbridge, MA to Provincetown, MA over the course of two days.  At the time, it sounded like ‘fun’. 

What’s even crazier? My friend and I will be riding it on hybrids not fancy shmancy road bikes with a gazillion gears.  That’s OK though.  Back in my younger days I used to ride centuries on my old, yellow, Raleigh 10 speed (before I knew what centuries where), and I’ve done 50 mile road rides on a mountain bike and ridden from Sandwich to P-town on a fully loaded (panniers and food) mountain bike.  I’ve just got to put the miles in between now and August 4th so I don’t finish last. 

Other than the usual long work hours and realted stress, not much has been going on.  I’m plugging steadily away at the Black Blob, formally known as Truly Tasha’s Shawl (Ravelry link and a non-Ravelry link).  I’m using up some Plymouth Indiecita Alpaca that I bought Elann years ago.  The rows are long and slow going right now and black, fuzzy, blobs are not very photogenic.  I’d love to finish it up soon as it’s getting a bit warm to be knitting with a blob of alpaca in your lap. 

I’ve got some traveling and baseball games coming up in the next few weeks, so I may get some socks on the needles, or maybe a simple scarf for some easy travel knitting.  I’ll stir the stash a bit tonight and see what spills out.

I’m going to try and get back in the habit of posting regularly, I’ve missed you guys.  This “waiting until next week when all the mayhem will be over” thing hasn’t worked out so far.  “Next week” alsways seems ot bring it’s own mayhem.  (And not the cute Mayhem like Chris has either.)

~ by Kat on May 27, 2008.

4 Responses to “Remember me?”

  1. Short missives are good. I mean, long posts are nice, but sometimes the two sentence-style option is just so much more manageable.

    Good luck with the bike training. I’ve got to spend some more time on my pedals than I have in a while…

  2. LOL! Yeah, there’s always plenty o’ mayhem (furry and not so) to go around, isn’t there?! You’re WAY ahead of me on biking – I have to move about 10 other bikes so I can drag my bike out and take it in for a tune up. But yay you for sticking to your hybrid! 🙂

  3. good luck on the training! maybe someday i’ll do it too.

  4. I love your posts, short or long. Especially the pictures ;P That is really exciting about the bike ride! Holy crap that is a long ride. Now we’re finally getting some good ‘get out there’ weather to train in!

Leave a Reply

 
