Family

I went to a birthday party last night. It was a party for my cousin’s wife. One of those big number birthdays. We danced and danced and danced. And I marveled at the fact that women, no matter how old they are, know all the worlds to “Build Me Up Buttercup”. Why is that?

I got there late (my usual MO) and when my cousin’s wife’s brother (follow that?) found out I was there, he and his wife sought me out.

His wife said, I love your mom and this story will tell you why. Then her husband told me a story. Many, many years ago, he helped his sister drive back to the east coast from New Mexico. He was a young kid. Just a freshman in college. Missing his girlfriend. At a crossroads in his life. He had a conversation with my Mom, who listened, and said to him, “you should marry her if you feel that way.”

Decades later they sought my out to tell me that story.

You never know how your actions are going to affect others.

~ by Kat on June 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “Family”

  1. That’s a wonderful story!

    But… I don’t know the words to “Build Me Up Buttercup.”

  2. What a great story! And that photo totally captures summertime youth.

  3. What a lovely story. I do, of course, know the words to “Build Me Up Buttercup” – great tune!

Leave a Reply

 
