Bygone era

I was in Mystic, CT for a wedding this weekend. It was hot. Really hot. Inferno hot. It was made hotter by the fact that my car is in the shop and I had to walk everywhere. With everything in my backpack. I must have walked over 15 miles over the last two days. Good stuff.

Over 30 years ago, I went to sailing camp in Mystic. It was fun walking around today and seeing everything again. While at camp, we slept on board the Joseph Conrad (the three masts on the left), and spent our days sailing. One night we were allowed to climb the rigging. Sadly, today I couldn’t convince the staff to let me relive that moment.

The good thing about taking the train down – knitting time! Much progress was made on the Ilene bag. Some day I’ll get around to taking pictures.

~ by Kat on July 20, 2008.

3 Responses to “Bygone era”

  1. Well, obviously the staff is NO FUN AT ALL.

  2. Beautiful photos. Sucks about the car, though.

  3. lol, those shantymen. You must not have had ale to bribe them with! I worked at the museum for a number of years oh, twenty years ago…yikes! It was incredible fun and the worse pay i ever made!

Leave a Reply

 
