Mac vs. PC

I’m alive.  Really. 

Sorry for the radio silence, but it has been rather topsy-turvey around here.  I’m taking some time to get my bearings back and some balance in my life.  And if you haven’t figured it out yet, I am quite the introvert.  Next week is a stay-cation for me.  Yup, I’m going to paint the trim, seal the exposed brick, send out all the fiber packages and prizes from the PMC, take the dog for long daily walks and romps in the park during daylight hours, update and reorganize the stash, vacuum the radiators, watch the Red Sox and lots of Netflix, learn to spin, and generally catch up on life. 

I may be shopping for a new computer too.  It’s never good when laptops make ‘popping’ sounds.  So, if you had to do it all over again, what would you buy – Mac or PC?

Work is a PC environment.  I just purchased MS Office 2007 through work (although I don’t think it has anything to do with the popping sounds.  I think those are the result of the rain the other day.  Apparently the window wasn’t closed all the way.)  I use my laptop for blogging (stop laughing), internet surfing, Ravelry-ing (and posting to the best forum ever, Sox Knitters), playing with photos (Photoshop Elements), movie watching, iTunes, Twittering the debates, etc.  Not into the gaming thing.

My Mac experience is limited. Limited to putting out the fire in my neighbor’s apartment when her battery exploded.  I’ve heard horror stories about Macs and power issues. 

Leave a vote, I mean comment, and Java will select a random number.  I’ll send the lucky recipient a skein of Socks That Rock (colorway to be determined as I complete the stash reorganization).

~ by Kat on October 2, 2008.

11 Responses to “Mac vs. PC”

  1. We’re a Mac family, dating back to our first laptops, bought (separately) in 1992. We’ve bought new, we’ve bought refurbbed, and we’ve inherited used — and we’ve always enjoyed the machines.

  2. I think you’re either a Mac or PC person. I’m a PC person. We have Mac’s at school, and I can’t seem to work with them as fast as I can work on a PC, just because I’m used to where everything is located, and how everything works. Windows may be a pain in the wazoo sometimes, but at least it’s familiar. Just my $.02!

  3. Pegi may be right, about the “one or the other” idea, but maybe I am just nerd enough to love both for different reasons 🙂 I grew up on macs, switched to pcs and would rather use linux than anything so I am really no help but I wanted to let you know that you are a genius for taking Vacation when the sox are playing the post season. Good move 🙂

  4. PC, baby! 🙂 Dang, have you seen the kinda spiffy machines you can get for not so much money these days? Number one best thing to also get with your laptop is a stand to help it stay cool – heat buildup’s the main cause of laptop death.

    Enjoy your staycation!

  5. like i told you in twitter, i love my mac. it’s simple and easy to work with, intuitive. if this means anything, my department at work is looking into going all mac.

    but i’m not a computer whiz or anything so i can’t really comment further. other than to tell you that i haven’t had a problem in the three years that i’ve had this laptop.

  6. Macs are beautiful, and I love their OS. I have a work PC, but when it was time to buy a family desktop machine, I gave in to Mac lust and bought one.

    It sounds like you use your home machine much the way I do, though, and I have to say that unless you have a burning desire to get a Mac just to have one and to learn about them, you’ll probably be happier in the long run with a PC – they do all the things you list above as well as a Mac, can be had for a lot less money, and you’ll be more comfortable and more at ease in the environment you know.

    But Macs are fun and gorgeous,

  7. You can run PC programs on a Mac, so the real question for me is: which is cheaper? That means more money for yarn…

  8. My daughter has a Mac and will never go back to a PC even though her laptop runs very hot. A cooling station is necessary in the warmer months. I have 2 PCs, 1 a desktop and 1 a laptop. After 5 years of Windows both have been wiped and now use Linux. I will never go back to Windows. If I had to buy a new computer tomorrow I would spend the extra money to go with a Mac just to avoid all the problems I’ve had with Windows.

  9. I’ve used both – I currently have a PC, but if I were to buy a new laptop, it’d be a Mac. I just think Apple makes better, longer-lasting computers that don’t have as many issues. I’ve been fairly lucky with my Vaio, but in general, everyone I know who has a PC laptop has had some major malfunction, whereas most of the Mac users have never had a serious problem.

  10. Also – Sox Knitters is totally the best forum ever. GO SOX!

  11. Mac all the way. I was a PC until I started dating hubby. I’m on my second mac in 6 years. The only trouble I’ve had was with my then five year old ibook – but it was five years old. And it was fixable. I upgraded this year to a macbook and it is fab. The screen is amazing – even my die-hard pc dad is in love with it. I did replace my old ibook’s battery twice, but that’s a small price to pay for no freezing/quitting apps/etc.

Leave a Reply

 
