Fiber Twist

It was a bit different this year, other than Bedfellows Blankets, there were no farms to check out. My favorite thing about the Fiber Twist has been the nomadic nature of it. Driving around on small country roads just taking in the scenery, discovering those hidden gems of western Massachusetts. If it’s just going to be fiber vendors in a HS lobby – I’m not sure I’d make the trip next year. Most of the vendors have websites that I can purchase their wares from.

I did spend some time exploring Shelburne Falls. It’s one of those gems of western Massachusetts. After all the time I spent kayaking on the Deerfield, I can’t believe I hadn’t been there before. As usual, when I was driving, there was no rain. As soon as I got out of the car to explore, the rain started. I still had a great time walking around and exploring the area near the river. The photo above is of Salmon Falls (just down the street from Metaphor Yarns).

If the weather and work cooperate tomorrow, I’ll post my purchases. (My new yarn diet strategy appears to be working!)

 

ETA:  The farm tours will be back next year!  (See comment #4 to this post.)

~ by Kat on October 25, 2008.

5 Responses to “Fiber Twist”

  1. You should go back to Shelburne Falls in the spring or summer. The Bridge of Flowers is something to see in its glory.

  2. Good to know my first instinct was right — what you described was the exact reason I didn’t make the trek. The website seemed to be focused on the indoor vendors, and not so much on the farms. Glad I didn’t go now!

  3. Gorgeous! So maybe the best part of it was that it got you out of your usual area?

  4. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed in this year’s Fiber Twist. Three of our mainstay farms had to take a break from doing the open farm aspect, but as far as I know they plan on being open farms next year.

  5. Yay! The farms will be back next year. Yay!

Leave a Reply

 
