Go West

Conestoga Wagon
Gruene, TX
Summer 2008

Yup. I’m back in Austin, TX. I’ve got to work tomorrow and then I hope to have some time to explore the area on Sunday, before work starts again on Monday.

All this traveling I’ve been doing, makes me realize how unfriendly folks are in Boston. Oh, we’re nice enough, but we’re not warm and friendly. I had some lovely chats with total strangers in Chicago. And Texas, well damn, they just have friendly down to an art.

At a business dinner last night, we were talking about travel experiences. About how it’s good to get out of your element and see how others live. Last night’s conversation was based on extremes. Going to foreign countries and exotic locations. The same holds true for America. We need to venture out and treat people the way we want to be treated. I’m gonna try to be friendlier in the future.

And yes, I did work on the scarf on the flight down tonight.

~ by Kat on November 8, 2008.

4 Responses to “Go West”

  1. I’ve been trying the same thing, because I realized I was getting sucked into the whole sort of societal nastiness. It’s definitely one of those things that, in doing, you receive a heckuva lot of benefit from and that makes it easier to continue doing.

    When I was in MA the first time (suburb of Boston), I was in a grocery store. At first I thought I must be being incredibly inattentive, because I kept bumping into people. And then I realized it wasn’t me – they were pretty much just bumping into me and not caring a bit. It was pretty weird, from a Midwestern perspective. People virtually always apologize if they bump into you.

  2. It’s funny that you mention this – my best friend is living in Springfield, MA and she was here visiting last week and could not get over how friendly everyone was.

  3. When we moved to Kalamazoo from Boston, we were totally freaked. Everyone was so friendly and chatty; we were convinced everyone was trying to mug us. It was a very huge change from our Boston experience!

  4. i go out of my way to be particularly helpful to tourists. (not necessarily friendly. but helpful yes) so that when they go home they’ll say to people “oh my god, they’re so helpful in boston. but seriously, i think the boston unfriendliness has something to do with a lack of personal space. and the cold.

    also, when i travel and people are too friendly, i wonder what they want from me. heh.

Leave a Reply

 
