home

It will be really nice to get home tonight/tomorrow. I’ve been on the road since Wednesday, and while I’ve enjoyed the places I’ve been (Chicago, Austin, San Antonio), I am looking forward to sleeping in my own bed. Looking forward to picking up Java da Pup from the kennel. Looking forward to being home.

I spent yesterday in San Antonio touring the missions. (Thanks for the tip David!) Down at Mission Espada I spotted this over one of the doorways to the Friar’s quarters. First time I’ve seen it outside of Bavaria (and Brother Jim, who I chatted with earlier, was definitely not German). As it was explained to me, every year on the eve of the Feast of the Epiphany, chalk is used to write the year and the initials (C, M, B) of the Three Wisemen over the door to protect and bring good fortune to the home and it’s occupants.  Details are here.  I know there are a lot of German influences and culture in the Texas Hill Country (no, I never did make it to the WurstFest in New Braunfels – oh what a photo safari that would have been), but the missions seem so removed from that.

I may be looking for some chalk on January 5th.

~ by Kat on November 10, 2008.

One Response to “home”

  1. That’s intriguing – I’d never heard anything about that before. Ahhh… home sweet home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
