who needs a barometer?

Boston has the Berkeley Tower, better known as the Hancock Tower, and it’s cute weather poem:

Steady blue, clear view
Flashing blue, clouds due
Steady red, rain ahead
Flashing red, snow instead.
(If it flashes red in the summer, that means the Sox game is cancelled and in 2004 and 2007 it flashed red and blue when the Sox won the World Series)

I discovered that Chicago has the Weather Bell.  Looks like the Weather Bell also changes color depending on the weather.

Thanks to Wikipedia, I learned that these are known as weather beacons.  Interesting stuff, no?

So, did my technique work? Did I distract you sufficiently so that you wouldn’t notice that the promised knitting update was absent? No? How about the fact that Dikembe Mutombo sat behind me on the train last night.  (Pssst, he’s really, really, really, tall.  When he stood up, his head touched the ceiling.) Did that work? No? Rats.

OK, here’s the pathetic knitting update – the mistake rib scarf just refuses to be photographed accurately. Just like my nephew who makes a silly face whenever someone pulls out a camera. The rich purples and blues just refuse to be captured by the camera, no matter the light or white balance settings. That’s OK, I’m kind of mad at the scarf anyway. Despite knitting on the train last night and during the commute this morning, the ball of yarn has not gotten any smaller. Don’t you hate when that happens? Knit, knit, knit, knit some more, check the yarn ball – it’s the same size! Well, I’m stubborn too yarn ball, I will defeat you.

~ by Kat on November 17, 2008.

One Response to “who needs a barometer?”

  1. Actually, the weather beacon thing worked. 🙂

Leave a comment