what I’ve been up to

Wondering what I’ve been up to since I took my blogging Rumshpringa? (I have made my choice and decided to come back to the fold.) I thought I’d take a few posts and give you the highlights of the past year or so.

First up, the failed 365.

I’ve failed at 365 twice. The first time I lasted less than a month and the idea of that project was to just take and post at least one picture a day. The second time I went for the self-portrait 365.  (You can see the full set here.)  I surprised myself by lasting longer with that one (about 3 months or so), but I just couldn’t bear to take another picture of me at work so I gave it up.

I was pretty much on the road for work non-stop from January until April. I felt like a minor league ballplayer. Three or four days here, then back to my parents’ house for 3 or four days. Rinse and repeat for weeks on end. Thankfully I was able to use my parents’ hosue as a base of operations. Java the Pup got to hang out in a consistent environment and I got to enjoy Mom’s home-cooking when I was home. I think I spent less than five nights at my condo in Boston between Super Bowl weekend and Tax Day adn the only reasons I made the short trips to Boston were because I had concert tickets. 

Last year the work travel schedule forced me to miss two nights of Dave Brubeck, I wasn’t going to let that happen again.   So this time around I made sure I was in town to see Ladysmith Black Mambazo at Sanders Theatre, the Blind Boys of Alabama with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band at Symphony Hall, and Pink Martini at the Opera House.  All three were fantastic and well worth the effort to get back to Beantown between trips.

The 365 pretty much killed my photo-mojo too. Instead of being inspired by the world around me, the fact that I *had* to take a picture of myself made it a chore. A chore I didn’t enjoy. A chore that was made more taxing by the fact that I was always working. For years I used to carry my camera everyday, just in case I came across something that was visually interesting. Now I will go weeks without picking it up. I’m hoping to get the mojo back, and more often I’m finding myself wishing I had my camera with me so I could capture a moment. I’m not going to rush it though, I tend to rebel when I am forced to do something.

~ by Kat on November 4, 2009.

5 Responses to “what I’ve been up to”

  1. some good concerts — I really need to make more effort to see live music – I bought some tickets for Gaelic Storm in March and need to get Eddie From Ohio tickets for the show in January.

  2. Busy year! Welcome back. I hope you get your camera mojo back too. That is specifically why I’m not even going to attempt a 365. Are you done with the traveling now?

  3. You HAVE been busy (but we’re glad you’re back). There’s no way I can bear to take a picture of myself for 365 days a year, but I’m trying the any ol’ picture for 365. I may try to do pics of myself for just a month. I don’t know how people do it.

  4. Hey – we’re both re-entering blogging at about the same time 😉 Love love LOVE Pink Martini – I saw them last summer in North Carolina.

  5. What is it about obligations like 365 or knitalongs that crush one’s spirit?!

Leave a Reply

 
