beavah weekend

After work today I am heading north for a weekend away. An extended ‘Girls Night Out’ if you will. At least that is what I have been lead to believe. I have heard about Beaver Weekend for years and am finally able to go and see what it’s all about for myself. From what I hear it’s a bit like camp, but with more alcohol. Skanky Swap, skits, cocktails and snacks, yoga, hikes, games, and lots of laughs. I’ve already lined up the other crafty folks for a trip to Patternworks on Saturday.

As you may have guessed from the name, there is a certain ‘edge’ to Beaver Weekend and after following the e-mail threads and having heard the stories, I decided that I needed a Beaver Hat for the festivities. So one night last week, I made it to the craft store and picked up some fun fur (//shiver//). A few hours later I had a ridiculously silly hat (modeled by the lovely Java the Pup above). It’ll be perfect. I never thought I’d say this, but what would I have done without Fun Fur?

I also whipped up a perfect item for the Skanky Swap, but while innocent and entertaining, I’m a bit shy about putting it out here on the blog. Besides I have to wait until it’s gifted, don’t want to ruin the surprise for my fellow Beavers.

I’ll definitely be blogging this weekend, but don’t know if I’ll be able to post. I’ve got the WordPress app on the iPhone, but coverage up in the wilds of New Hampshire is allegedly spotty. Hopefully they’ve added a few more cell towers since last year.

~ by Kat on November 6, 2009.

6 Responses to “beavah weekend”

  1. Have a blast. LOVE the beavah on Java the Pup (the name cracks me up every single time!

  2. Sounds like a lot of fun – enjoy!

  3. How fun! Did you wear a disguise when you went into buy the funfur? That photo is adorable. Can’t wait to hear all the escapades, or your drunken tweets!

  4. Excellent usage of fun fur! ;o)

  5. I must admit that my imagination is working overtime on this whole weekend thing! 😉

  6. Java!! Hahaha, have a blast!

Leave a Reply

 
