color week

I haven’t been feeling my photo mojo in the past few months. I went from carrying my DSLR everywhere to leaving it home on the table for weeks at a time. Photography was frustrating to me. I saw so many images, but never had the time to do them justice so I just stopped.

No one was more surprised than I was when I jumped on the bandwagon that was Maritza’sĀ  Color Week over on Flickr. I rarely jump on bandwagons and if I do it usually gurantees that I will fall off the wagon. KALs? Nope – that means that the project will die an agonizing death on the needles. 365? I don’t even want to see 365 pictures of me, I won’t inflict that pain on others. YIP? My life is too boring and busy. Besides, I’d get bored taking photos of my office/dog/messy house.

But jump on the Color Week bandwagon I did and I had a blast participating. It was fascinating to look at the world while focusing on one color per day. I only wish I wasn’t traveling and dealing with a very sick dog the last two days. I definitely did not do justice to indigo and coral. Participating made me realize how colorful my world really is.

Try it sometime. Try looking at your world and focus on one color at a time. You’ll be surprised at all the different colors you see.

~ by Kat on December 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “color week”

  1. I remember that about doing Project Spectrum that first year – focusing on a single color really increased my awareness of it.

  2. I loved seeing this on Flickr.. what a cool project šŸ™‚ and i LOVE the snow on your blog šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
