moving on

Every NYE, instead of hoping on the T, I walk through the Common and Public Garden on my way to Copley and catch the bus home. I love seeing the ice sculptures, the skaters, the parade (I missed it this year) and then head home for a nice quiet evening.

I was never big into celebrating New Year’s Eve. On one occasion my BF at the time and I went out for New Year’s. Dave came over, we cooked an amazing dinner and then went to Johnny D’s to see a favorite band, the Heavy Metal Horns . The place was packed, we paid a fortune, and the champagne toast at midnight was silly. We had fun, but it was ridiculous to pay 5 times the usual cover charge for the same thing we did every weekend (other than the champagne toast).

For all of my formative years (the 15 years starting with freshman year of HS), December 31st was spent at Sugarloafers Ski Camp up in Kingfield, Maine. Since we had to be up early to ski the next day, it was early to bed after the ‘boogie band’ finished playing. When I became staff I would volunteer for dorm duty. I enjoyed spending quiet time in front of the fireplace with a book or my knitting and friends would always bring over a cold bevvy or two and some snacks from the gathering in the Foam Dome. Besides the big party for us was always the last night of camp so by volunteering for duty on NYE, I usually got a pass for January 1.

To this day, the friends I made at camp are the ones I hold most dear. We may not see each other for years but when we connect, it’s like we saw each other yesterday. There was a companion summer camp (Birch Island) that I did that for three years after graduating from college. If GGD was still running it, I would sign up in a heart beat. Nothing like spending 6 weeks paddling in the Maine Woods to relieve stress.

Tonight I am happily spending the evening at home. Nothing like eating tasty food, drinking tasty beer, knitting, Flickring, and watching the Thin Man marathon on TCM. Wishing you all the best in 2010.

P.S. Any former Sugarloafers please leave a comment or send me an e-mail. We’re in the process of planning a combined reunion/GGD birthday party this April and would love to get in touch.

~ by Kat on December 31, 2009.

One Response to “moving on”

  1. Happy New Year! I spent a happy evening at home myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
